Living in the Cold–Or Not

I love snow. To play in, not to live in. I grew up in Southern California but in college and graduate school I lived in the Midwest. I spent 8 years in snow-covered Indiana, Michigan, and Missouri. And I loved the snow even at college. It wasn’t until I was working that I realized that walking around a college campus in the snow is entirely different than waking up every morning, warming up your car, shoveling your driveway, brushing off your car, de-icing your windshield, driving on often unplowed streets with ice, sliding around, etc. etc. Even going to the grocery store requires extra effort as you navigate a shopping cart over patches of snow or ice in the parking lot.

My favorite grocery store in Missouri was one where you bought your groceries and then they gave you a number, you went back to your car, pulled up under this protected area, gave them your number, and they’d load your groceries for you. It was like having a butler. Sort of. I’d love to have that here–not because it’s cold or snowy, but just because I’m lazy.

Noble Hall, Vermont College of Fine Arts

I just returned from 11 days in Vermont. Again, it was on a college campus, so even though it pretty much never stopped snowing the entire time I was there, I never really had to walk very far. That said, I dressed in layers, as normal people do in the snow, because while it’s really cold outside, people keep inside temperatures basically normal. Which was great, but it meant that in order to leave the building I’d have to put on my coat (and sometimes a sweatshirt or fleece under that depending on how cold it really was), hat, scarf, and gloves, then once I got back into the building I’d have to disrobe the aforementioned items.

I have to say, I’m very proud of myself–I only lost an item once and found it the next day.

But the snow really is cool. I do love it when I don’t have to work or drive in it. That’s why I love Train Guy’s family’s cabin in our local mountains. In an hour and a half, we go from wearing jeans and a shirt and maybe a hoodie to full-on snow gear. Any time I want to see the seasons we just head on up. I can get my snow on without the hassle.

It’s awesome.

3 Responses

  1. I agree. Vacationing in the snow kicks ass. One of the best trips I’ve ever taken was a winter trek to Lake Louise, Canada.Living in it, not so fun. I used to ride the Metro every day in DC. We’d bundle up to go outside and then sweat bricks on the hot, crowded trains. That is one thing I don’t miss!

  2. As a person who is considering moving South just to get away from the multiple layers and bone chilling cold, I have to say I might miss the snow occasionally. But then again, I envy your “jeans and a shirt, maybe a hoodie” in the winter time even more.

  3. Agreed! I know TONS of people that have moved to So Cal from snow areas and have yet to move back. I can’t think of a single person who lived in So Cal and then decided to move to a snow region on a permanent basis. And asked the people who say they love the cold weather what it is that they love about it and they will inevitably say: I love being inside all bundled up and cozy by a fireplace when it’s cold out. Well then they really just like it warm then don’t they?! LOL
    And the people who claim to “miss 4 seasons” ask them if they miss 100+ degree weather and humidity on a regular basis in the Summer time! Nope, we got it made right here in Southern California all year long. My only complaint about beautiful and amazing California is that everyone else feels the same way and we have to live with crowds and traffic! Small price to pay : )

Leave a Reply

