Using Public Bathrooms

How old should a boy be before sending him to the men’s restroom by himself? Is it okay to keep taking him to the women’s bathroom until he’s 7 or does that make other women too uncomfortable? Even sending him at 7 makes me worry. Something like 90% of pedophiles are men and it would seem that public bathrooms would be an obvious place for them to stalk. Am I being too paranoid? Not to mention that the men’s rooms I’ve seen tend to be dirtier than the ladies rooms.

Rocky is 5 and a bit tall for his age. Whenever possible we use family restrooms or single person bathrooms while we are out. But there are still those times when I must take him to the ladies room with me. Most other women do not seem to care;  if they do, I haven’t noticed. I have had a couple of encounters with women who have said something though. Rocky was even younger so I just let it go. I wasn’t about to send him alone just because a stranger objected to him being in the women’s room. Get over it, lady! Now that he’s getting older (and bigger) I have to start thinking about this again. Maybe I should time him in the men’s room and be prepared to peek in if he takes too long? I’m sure some unsuspecting guy would love that! I can only imagine how it must be for a stay-at-home dad raising little girls…

Hey, if you think bathrooms are germy, don’t forget to use those wipes after going to the ATM. Turns out they are just as bad.

And now for the annoying song going through my head that I must share so you, too, can be singing it all day:

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna run around and desert you
Never gonna make you cry
Never gonna say goodbye
Never gonna tell a lie and hurt you!

***The Gen X Moms are no longer writing as a group (too many scheduling conflicts) but you can continue reading about my adventures with Rocky on my new blog at:

http://www.jedismama.com

Leave a Reply

