Totsy is Terrible

There have been some awesome bargain websites springing up with some amazing deals on baby and kid items. I’ve had great experiences with sites like Mamabargains, Babysteals, and Kidsteals, so when a friend of mine pointed out that one discount site, Totsy.com, was carrying an adorable winter jacket from Convertible Designs at a fantastic price, I really didn’t hesitate to place my order.

Big mistake. Huge.

I placed my order on August 11, and then waited. And waited. And waited. At no time in the ordering process was I informed of an estimated delivery date. That should have been another warning, but I’ve had such great service from other sites (particularly the three I mentioned above) that I just decided to wait. After a couple of weeks, I went back to the Totsy site to look at my account. It was only then that I learned that Totsy waits until the sale ends, then places the order with the manufacturer, and then ships it to me. Okay, I know some sites work that way and don’t keep products in a warehouse, and I know that can take a while.

So I decided to take a look around the site for shipping information, just to see how long it might actually take. Normally on etailer sites, there’s a link to the shipping policy right on the very first page. Not so on Totsy. I looked all over the sign-in page and finally found an FAQ link at the very bottom in teeny gray letters:

Once I signed into my account, I found a shipping link, again way at the bottom in tiny gray letters. I don’t want to take a screen capture since it is a members-only section of the site, but believe me when I say that the placing, color, and prominence of the text is exactly the way it is on the sign-in screen, except it is labeled “Shipping.”

In the FAQ/Shipping section is their shipping policy:

How long will it take for me to get my order?
For delivery, orders will be processed, ordered to the brand, received at Totsy, quality controlled, and then shipped, and delivered within 3-5 weeks after the sale close. Your items are ordered to the brand after you purchase them so some brands might be a bit slow to ship those items to us. Make sure you always consider this when choosing the size when ordering an apparel item. When your order is shipped, you will be able to access a tracking number on your personal account page.

My first reaction was WHAT??? 3-5 weeks??? I really wish I’d known that before I ordered, particularly for clothes. They say that you should “make sure you always consider this when choosing the size when ordering an apparel item” except that this information is NOWHERE in the ordering process and can ONLY be found in that tiny FAQ or Shipping link at the bottom.

It had been 4 weeks at that point, so I decided to wait it out a little longer. Things got busy, and the order kind of slipped my mind until one day I thought “This has been a really long time–much longer than the stated 5 weeks.” I then got an email from my friend who had ordered a jacket in the same batch but a different style, and she asked if I’d received mine, because she hadn’t, and she hadn’t been able to reach a live person on their phone line, just a recording. At that point I got a sinking feeling in my stomach, and did what I should have done at the start, which was a little research on Totsy reviews.

They were terrible. And I noticed the same negative comments coming up over and over again: unreasonably long shipping times, inability to get a live person on the phone, lack of response to emails, lost/missing items, incorrect items, no refunds, and so on. It was very dismaying, but look for yourself:

Moody Mama Says got incorrect items even though she had emailed to ask the mistake to be fixed prior to shipping.

GetHuman.com showed 5 different 1 star, terrible reviews.

RateItAll.com has 30 reviews, nearly all of them 1 star

One Bored Mommy blogged about her experience after giving Totsy a tremendous benefit of the doubt.

Katie Talks About… her experience, and a follow-up to the debacle.

And there are plenty others if you want to do your own Google search.

I realized it had been 8 full weeks, October 5th, since I’d placed my order (remember, it was placed on August 11th, and they charged my card immediately upon placing the order), so I sent them an email with my order number demanding a refund. Totsy replied by saying:

Dear [my name],

Thank you for your inquiry regarding order #[number].

The CONVERTIBLE DESIGNS manufacturer did not include this jacket with our shipment as they had no stock.  We have asked the Accounting Department to process a refund for the order.  You will receive a copy of the merchants receipt for refund within 3 to 5 business days at this e-mail address.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have incurred.

Thank you for your patience and thank you for shopping with Totsy.com.

Kind regards,

Support

After having read all of the negative reviews, I was very suspicious of this response. They said that Convertible Designs didn’t include the jacket in the order because they were out of stock? And it was just a coincidence that my friend also didn’t receive her jacket even though it was in a different style? This just didn’t strike me as likely to be true.  And even if it was true, when did they plan on telling me this? 8 weeks had gone by without a peep from Totsy, yet they were happy to just take and keep my money. That’s just ridiculous.

I did actually receive my refund a few days later, and I was very glad for that, but I decided to email Convertible Designs directly to let them know about my experience and to warn them that Totsy was placing the blame on them, and they might want to reconsider any future arrangements with Totsy.

I received a very prompt reply (within a few hours, on a weekend even!) from Convertible Designs saying:

Dear [my name],

You are a second person who contacted me with this problem.  I fulfilled my obligation with Totsy according to their PO as you have suggested.  There was no problem with the stock.  Also, I’ve heard about the problem with their shipping and customer service departments, but this was after our event was run.

I am a true believer in a good customer service. I demand this from the companies I buy from, and I try to offer it to my customers to the best of my abilities.  I would be more then happy to offer you the same price and free shipping on the item that was misplaced by Totsy.  Please let me know if you are interested, and I will send you the discount code.

Warm regards,
-Natasha
Convertible Designs

So basically Totsy totally blamed the whole thing on Convertible Designs. Now obviously someone is not being truthful here. But after reading everything I did about Totsy and the fact that they didn’t bother to contact me, I feel very secure in concluding that Totsy is the one not telling the truth in this situation. Later, my friend told me that she had also received a refund from Totsy for her missing jacket as well. I did place the order with Convertible Designs and they totally lived up to their offer and sent me the jacket with no problems at all. Talk about great customer service!!! I would absolutely recommend Convertible Designs to anyone. And look at how cute this jacket is!

But back to Totsy–I have no idea what Totsy plans to do with these missing jackets (mine, my friend’s, and the other person who contacted Convertible Designs before me), or really how many missing jackets there are total, but whatever they do with them, I have trouble believing that it’s going to be ethical. The Totsy website is very slick and professional looking and I’m shocked that they run their business this way, but it seems like my experience is hardly the exception.

Totsy is terrible, and I suggest you avoid them at all costs.

*Full disclosure: I made my purchase through Totsy at my own expense on my own initiative. I was not offered any product or compensation from Totsy in exchange for any kind of review.

 

19 Responses

  1. What a nightmare site………so glad you followed up with the actual company…your little man is going to look adorable in that jacket!

  2. Thank you for including my blog in your post. Totsy really needs to get their act together. They have Twitter parties regularly and I try to always warn my Twitter friends that they are not a reputable company and not to do business with them. One thing that really bothers me is that they have a reputable blogger who runs these parties. Why she still continues to support Totsy is beyond me because she has seen my post and even commented on it.

    Great post!

  3. […] like I wasn’t alone. I read this post from GenXMoms and at least a half a dozen sources are cited for people who have had major issues […]

  4. Thanks for including me in your post. I have never dealt with a company that seems so disorganized before. Hopefully people will realize this and take their business elsewhere.

  5. If you haven’t already, you should file a complaint on the better business bureau site. I usually check there first before shopping a new web site. I looked them up and so far they have been given a C rating. Sounds a little generous considering your report!

  6. I stumbled across your blog tonight wen trying to decide whether to place my first order from Totsy (sales looked good, but wanted to do a quick search to see if they were reputable.) Wow! Your site is far from the only one with complaints, so I’m happily saving my money (and as an aside, I’ve had several good purchases thru Gilt Groupe and Mini Social)

  7. I completely agree with your negative experience with Totsy. I am still waiting, 9 weeks later for three items. Tried contacting customer service (phone and email)- no response whatever. Even online, my order status just shows “pending”. Ugh!! Never again.

  8. I’m so glad I read this before purchasing anything from Totsy!! I highly recommend Zulily if you are looking for a reputable website that is similar to Totsy. I have ordered multiple times from Zulily and have always gotten my shipment within 2 weeks – which is what they tell you before you submit your order. They also do not charge you until your order has been shipped. They have a customer service number and I’ve never had a problem reaching someone on this phone number. Also, one time they ran out of an item that I had purchased and not only did they refund my charge card, they also credited me $10 in Zulily credits for my inconvenience! Last week their website was slow, so in order to apologize to their customers, they offered 10% off your entire purchase if you ordered anything that weekend. Now that is customer service! So, if you want to purchase similar items that Totsy offers, go to Zulily and you will be so pleased!

  9. Thank you so much for your e-mail.

    I just contacted Madame Alexander about their business with Totsy. I am still waiting on my item.

  10. Thank you so much for posting your story! Mine is very similar. And to think I would receive my order in time for Christmas when it was place in the MIDDLE OF OCTOBER! I am now wasting my time trying to get a hold of Totsy, trying to at least get a refund. ARGH!!!!

  11. BTW, I am going to report Totsy to the NY Attorney General’s office. I urge others to do the same!

  12. Hilary, I’m sorry to hear about your negative experience as well. It’s totally ridiculous and I hope you’re able to get a refund.

  13. I also had a similar experience with Totsy. I ordered items for Christmas on Nov 8 and everything should have arrived in time, but no. The worst I’ve run in to. I’d totally avoid ever ordering from them.

  14. Consider the fact that they mispelled their own name on their form email responding to my complaint, you can see why there are problems. I’ve been waiting 6 weeks and have so far gotten 5 separate packages from them, including wrong items and no word on the balance of my items. So they’re going to end up being post-baby gifts instead of shower gifts. They do have a great selection,though so I have to fight the temptation to give them another chance. They are a total mess.

  15. Thank you for this blog!!! I almost ordered something this morning from Totsy. Now I will definitly not!! besides I think that their shipping charges are too high for what you get anyway.

  16. Could not agree more. Purchased a bday gift, there was a MONTH LONG wait and their customer service was not helpful at all. In fact, they are rude. And there is no number to call– you’re just at the mercy of anonymous and inadequate email responses.

  17. I ordered a Sophie Catalou dress from Totsy, but they shipped the wrong size. I emailed them, and they asked me to ‘send pictures of the item’. After that, I never heard from them again, despite repeated emails. No refund, no apologies. It was my first purchase with Totsy and definitely the last. I recommend Mini Social and Zulily, similar sites with wonderful customer service!

  18. Thank you so much for your postings. I was just about to make my first purchase on a portable baby crib (baby is due beginning of April). It never would have gotten here on time!
    Turns out that overstock.com offers the exact same crib for less including shipping. I ordered several times from overstock and have not been disappointed with their customer service. I guess it pays to do a little research prior to ordering things on the web. Thanks again for sparing me the hassle I was about to run into (not to mention kicking myself for spending more on totsy).

  19. I am so bummed that I did not read the above reviews before I ordered from Totsy. My first and last order was placed on February 25th with an expected ship date of March 23rd. I needed it for a baby shower but when I checked the status on March 23rd, the shipping info was blank. I sent an e-mail and did not get a response for a few days. They then told me that one of the items was sold out and they would ship the others immediately. It still took over a week to get the items (which was not in time for the shower). The sizes were wrong, quality was terrible, and there are scratches on 2 picture frames that I ordered. I am still waiting for a response from them on what to do with the scratched frames. I have now reported them to BBB and highly recommend unsatisfied customers to do the same. They are horrible!

Leave a Reply

