Help Me Clean This Rug!

Rather than a Works For Me Wednesday, I’m throwing out a What Works For You Wednesday.

Dog will be removed before cleaning

Here’s my dilemma. We have this area rug in the living room which I LOVE. It’s one of those that’s braided out of fabric like Grandma makes if Grandma worked at Crate and Barrel. And now I need to clean it. But there are a couple of problems here:

  • It’s big and covers most of the floor, so while there are a few spots that are dirtier than others, in order not to look odd I’m probably going to have to clean the whole thing.
  • There’s no backing underneath. It’s sitting right on top of the hardwood floor.
  • Said hardwood floor is original to the house and almost 90 years old, so it’s not in the greatest shape.
  • I’m not 100% opposed to icky chemicals but I’d prefer to avoid or minimize them

Now I know what you’re saying–steam clean it! However, my concerns about steam cleaning are threefold:

  1. I’m extremely worried that the steam will totally warp and completely jack up the hardwood floor underneath. Did I mention it’s original to the house and almost 90 years old?
  2. I don’t own a steam cleaner and am pretty sure I don’t know anyone else who does (though I haven’t really asked yet)
  3. I’m really cheap and would rather not rent one

So HELP ME CLEAN THIS RUG!!! Hit me with your best suggestions. I’m begging you!

Works-For-Me Wednesday

5 Responses

  1. I vote for just flipping the rug over 🙂 But I’m lazy like that. I also vote for possibly re-arranging furniture to cover the dirtier spots (see lazy above).
    Other than that, I’ve always just spot cleaned my rug (similar colors, but wool) with dishwashing liquid and a heavy scrubby thing (husbands/boyfriends are helpful with this).
    Depending on how big it is, dry cleaning might be an option. It’s usually like $50-70 and then its clean all over and you don’t have to do it!
    Clearly, I am not Suzy Homemaker.

  2. Oh, I never thought of just flipping it over! Hmmmm…

  3. I’d have it dry cleaned. Costs a little, but they deal with the mess there and you pick it up all clean and pretty again.

  4. My inlaws pull their rugs up and take them to a rug cleaning service.

  5. Don’t flip it! It’ll just rub the dirt into the hardwood, which, as you said is original to the house. Some services, like Coit I believe, will clean it outside in your yard and return it to your house completely DRY. Not really that expensive. There’s always a rug doctor…grocery store…but it’ll get the floor wet. I’d go with either Coit or Sears (1-800-4-MY-HOME)

Leave a Reply

