WANTED: Patience

As I prepared to sit down and write today’s post, I couldn’t think of a topic because someone was screaming about something, and I was getting mad. All I could think about was how hard it is to find a few minutes of peace when the girls are awake. Then, it hit me this was the topic for my blog post: patience. I am trying to teach my children how important it is to have some, but lately I find myself almost entirely without it. I have been applying for part-time jobs, and I check email incessantly throughout the day, hoping for a response. Any restaurant with a wait of more than 15 minutes is crossed off my list.Tantrums during diaper changes used to be brushed off as part of raising a toddler; lately, they are leaving me frustrated and upset. I need to find some patience. Parents need patience more than most people, I think. And, I don’t really have any right now.  

Our kids are learning tons of new stuff every day. So much that we take for granted what is new and exciting for them. And, if your kids are like The Big Cheese, they want to talk about each new discovery over and over and over again. This is all part of the learning process for them, and I know that. Some days, though, it is a lot harder to remember than others. Like the days when Bugster decides to add to the mix. She just turned 18 months, and this is what I call “The Magical Age.” It is when tantrums and willfully disobeying begin in full force, in my experience. Not to disappoint, the Bugster has been acting her age lately. But, that’s what I am working hard to remember: she is 18 months old. That’s it. There are so many things she doesn’t know, and, what she is learning, she is learning so quickly, it is hard to process. So, in my attempts to find patience, I am trying to sit back, take a deep breath, and remind myself that my kids are wonderful, wonderful kids. And I am lucky to be their mom.  Now, if only I could actually find that patience . . .

One Response

  1. I hear you, the patience during temper tantrums is the hardest for me. Sometimes I realize I’m the one that needs a time out and just go hide in the bathroom for a bit.

Leave a Reply

