WFMW: Removing Grease Spots from Clothes

Have I mentioned how much I love bacon? Because I do. I really, really do.  And even when I wear an apron frying it up, I still will occasionally splatter myself. And not just bacon, either–seems like I’m always getting some kind of oil stain or grease spot on myself. I always had trouble getting it out in the laundry too, especially if I didn’t catch it until after the dryer.

But all of my greasy laundry woes disappeared the day I took the advice of some random person on the internet and started using Dawn dish soap. The original blue formula.

See ya later, grease spots!

Simply rub a few drops of Dawn onto the stain and let it soak in for a minute or so, then launder as normal. This works even if the grease spot has been through the dryer once (or twice, or four times) already. I almost look for opportunities to slather my clothing with grease so I can feel so accomplished when I get it out.

It’s the little things.

Does it have to be Dawn? Does it have to be blue? Well, I actually compared 3 different dish soaps, one of which was blue Dawn and the other two were…not blue Dawn (I can’t remember, okay?), and the blue Dawn really did the job better than the other two. Plus the blue Dawn is the soap they use to clean off the wildlife affected by oil spills. And hey, if it’s good enough for a baby harp seal, it’s good enough for me. I mean I’m not going to go over and beat you up if you use something else, but if your dish soap doesn’t work, don’t blame me.

And just when you thought it couldn’t get any better, if you’re going Conveniently Green by using cloth napkins and ditching paper towels, you can simply shoot in a quick squirt of Dawn with your napkins and towels and remove the grease from those too! And if you use cloth diapers, Dawn is a great way to strip them as well. (only use a few drops with an HE machine)

AND! AND! It’s made by P&G so there are lots of coupons for it if you keep an eye out.

I keep a small bottle of blue Dawn in my laundry closet–works for me!

Works-For-Me Wednesday

4 Responses

  1. You know, I’ve heard of using Dawn for all kinds of uses, especially when I was cloth diapering, but I don’t know why I never thought to use it on grease spots on my shirts! I’m terrible about that…I always manage to get grease or oil on myself when I’m cooking. GREAT tip!!

  2. I have been using Dawn on every stain imaginable. Works like a charm everytime.

  3. I used to use some toxic spray stuff for grease stains and things got bad when I couldn’t get it anymore and then I tried Dawn and I love it! It smells good too! : ) I even used it to get ball point pen ink out of clothes. It worked on that too. (that wasn’t the ONLY cleaner I used that day, but it was one of the ones that got a lot of the stains out!)

  4. I can’t wait to try this. I have a couple of items I thought were ruined forever by grease spots. Thank you!
    I love bacon and grease too! Have you tried bacon wrapped dates? yummmmm. Bacon in cupcakes is quite popular now too. And super tasty I might add. The bacon and cupcake thing just proves EVERYTHING is better with bacon : )

Leave a Reply

