Transition Time is Nearing an End … And It's All Good

Well, the move is over.  We are settling in to our new home, and the girls handled it really well.  We were fortunate in that it was a slow move.  We had both places for almost a month, so we were able to get them really used to their new home before we officially moved in.  There were lots of trips back and forth, which is easy when it’s only a 2-mile move.  However, if you’re moving with young kids, I highly recommend trying to find some way for your kids to spend time at the new house before they have to sleep there.  I really think it helped them adjust more quickly.  Not that it was a seamless transition . . .

Every morning for an entire week, Bugster got up and ran to the front door, grabbed her shoes, and asked to go to my car.  It’s like she was saying, “Mommy, I slept here.  But I’m done visiting.  Can we go home now?”  Thankfully, that ended.  And, now Bugster seems very comfortable in our new home.

Now, we have a bunch of boxes.  They don’t seem to be decreasing in number – they line our hallway, and every single room has a few stacks.  They will eventually go away, although I am sure that will only happen if Dear Hubby and I actually unpack them.  It’s tough, because life goes on and sucks away unpacking time; we still have to cook, eat, and do dishes and laundry.  Sooner or later, we’ll be settled (although I have a feeling it’s going to be later).

The Big Cheese also started preschool yesterday.   Yep, the timing could have been better for her, but she has been looking forward to school for so long, I don’t think it added much stress to her.  (I would share a really great picture with you from The Big Cheese’s first day — but the USB cable is still packed away somewhere . . .)  She seemed pretty dazed when I dropped her off, but there weren’t any tears.  I should clarify – there weren’t any tears on her end.  I cried on and off for a couple hours.  But, some friends distracted me, so the six hours actually went by pretty quickly.  When I picked her up, she got mad.  She wouldn’t talk to me except to ask me to leave.  I got there a few minutes earlier than I said I would, so she missed afternoon story time.  It was a grave error, and one that I probably won’t make again.  What can I say?  My kid really likes books, and they apparently are way better than mommy.  Along with liking books, it is safe to say that The Big Cheese really, really likes preschool.   It’s going to be so great for her, and now Bugster and I get to embark on some one-on-one time for the first time ever.  I think it’s a good time for my family right now, and I wish the same happiness for you and your family.

One Response

  1. Sadly, we still have some unpacked boxes in the garage, and we moved in in 2004. Sounds like the girls are making a great transition, and what a relief to finally own your own place! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

