Letter to My Kindergartener

My Dear Kindergartener,

You were the joy of my life before you were even born. The fact that you almost didn’t make it into this world made your daddy and I appreciate you even more. We have watched you grow from a tiny, helpless preemie into a bright, healthy, and extremely inquisitive boy. We are so proud of you, Rocky! Now off to school you go, I know you’ll enjoy the ride.

When you come home each day, please share some of your adventures with me. Not the part about how Billy won’t stay in line or how Olivia is always interrupting. No tattling, remember? I want to know the parts that gave you glee, the stuff that surprised or confused you. Maybe you asked a question and got a silly answer. Maybe you said something that made the class laugh. Did the teacher recognize your good behavior or did you get in trouble for not listening? What was the weird thing that Mackenzie brought to school? Did you get to try a new instrument today? Did you learn about an exciting new book? What about that cool science experiment you tried? Do you love school like I did as a child? I hope so because you’re going to be there for a while!

Be kind to your classmates and seek out those who are kind to you. Help others when you can and ask for help when you need it. Don’t give up if there is something you can’t do right away. Keep trying! Respect your teachers and let me know if there are things that bother you that I can address on your behalf.

Your mom will have many feelings about you going off to school. Perhaps a little sadness that you are no longer a baby, but mostly excitement and good feelings for you. You are ready, kid, I’ve given you the tools you need. Take them and continue to build with them. Yesterday you wanted to be a scientist. Before that the best piano player in the world. Tomorrow, who knows? Whatever you choose, your parents will be there to guide you and support you.

I know you worry about me being alone but it’s only for a few short hours, I’ll find a good way to spend that time. And don’t forget I’ll be volunteering in the classroom every now and then. As for you, you won’t be missing me much and that is just the way it should be. Embrace your new friends and this new part of your life. Some days will be harder than others but focus on the good times and carry them with you into adulthood. Before you know it, you’ll be the parent sending your child off to school! Please no rush on this one.

Love you forever,

Mommy

***The Gen X Moms are no longer writing as a group (too many scheduling conflicts) but you can continue reading about my adventures with Rocky on my new blog at:

http://www.jedismama.com

3 Responses

  1. Ruth, you are such an amazing Mom and Rocky is very lucky to have you in his corner. Offering special prayers up today for both of you!!!!

  2. This was a wonderful letter. Your writing to Rocky was excellent.
    It even made me a little tearful. I hope he loves his new adventure. I am sure he will be a very enjoyable student for his teacher.

  3. Ruth: I still have tears in my eyes after reading this; what a beautiful message to Rocky from his wonderful mom.

Leave a Reply

