Books You Stay Up For

As moms, we often don’t have a lot of time to read. Allow me to put in a plug for the wonderful genre known as Young Adult literature. You probably remember YA books from your youth, but just because your youth has passed, doesn’t mean you have to stop reading. The best part about YA books is that the writing and story are still high quality, but they’re often half the size of adult novels.

All the fun in half the time! What’s there not to love???

So let me tell you about three books I absolutely could not put down. You may have already heard of them–The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The final book in the series was released last Tuesday. I had it pre-ordered on my Kindle and read it immediately. Loved it.

The Hunger Games starts out in a post-apocalyptic United States where the population lives in twelve Districts controlled by the Capitol. In an effort to intimidate and quell any possibility of rebellion, the Capitol holds their annual Hunger Games, in which two teenagers from each District are sent to participate in a battle-to-the-death. They’re thrown into a big, complicated arena to battle it out and the last person alive at the end wins. Oh, and it’s all televised.

I know, cheery, right?

But trust me, it’s really, really good. Our intrepid heroine, Katniss (who takes her sister’s place in the Hunger Games) tries to find a way to work the system–to game the game, so to speak. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but she’s the star of the second and third books, so I’ll let you draw your own conclusions there.

The second book, Catching Fire, is just as addictive as the first. And the third, Mockingjay, well let’s just say I read it in one day.

Whether you like speculative fiction, dystopian societies, or just a good read, I promise you won’t be disappointed. And I read a lot of YA literature. Trust me.

2 Responses

  1. There IS a place near my work where I get stopped for directions all the time! Unfortunately, the area I work in is mostly spanish speaking and I am mostly NOT spanish speaking, so I doubt my directions are ever helpful! Also, I have been asked two or three times for directions to Disneyland at my parent’s house…8 miles away. Use a map, people.

  2. I always make time for books. And, I have to say, I have fallen in love with some YA novels. One of my favorites is Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper — yes, people, that was written for young adults.
    A good trick to know if you’re reading YA: Is the main character a kid/teen? Are there a lot of adults in the book? Do they provide much direction, or are they just kinda there?

Leave a Reply

