Help! I'm Lost!

Mouse and I love to go to the Anaheim Public Library, which is located at the intersection of Harbor Blvd. and W. Broadway St. And for some mysterious reason, this intersection is like the Bermuda Triangle of Anaheim. Compasses stop working, GPS craps out, written directions to the place you want to go disappear, and internal sense of direction ceases to be accurate.

How do I know this?

Because I have been asked for directions at this intersection no fewer than FIVE times. No joke. At least 5 different people have either rolled down their window as we were both waiting for the light and shouted their request for directions, or I’ve been stopped at the library for the same. Here’s a visual:

Where the hell am I???

I honestly don’t recall anyone ever asking for directions at a different intersection. Why is it here?

Well, as you can see on the map, I’ve indicated the direction of Disneyland. This intersection is about halfway between the 91 freeway, a major East-West freeway in Southern California, and Disneyland itself. The majority of direction requests have been from people getting off the 91 toward Disneyland, then thinking they should have seen it by now, when in fact they haven’t gone far enough. Or vice-versa–people coming from Disneyland toward the 91, then thinking they should have seen it by now, when in fact they haven’t gone far enough.

Today I was stopped in the library parking lot by someone asking for a certain address*. Turns out they got off the 91 and turned right instead of left. Interestingly, they were halfway to Disneyland…

I was pondering this, and I realized that when I lived in Missouri, there was another intersection where a lot of people asked for directions. And even when we lived in Hamburg, Germany, where I apparently looked like a local, there was an intersection near our apartment there where multiple people asked me for directions.

So I’m wondering, is there a Bermuda Triangle intersection in every city, town, or wherever you live? One particular place where people consistently seem to stop and ask for directions? What do you think? Leave your comments below :).

*Before you freak out about my safety, it was an elderly gentlemen and there were about 5 other people in the parking lot, so it wasn’t like I was going to get knifed or something.

Leave a comment