Summer Traditions

The aftermath

My family has a lot of traditions, for instance our family 4th of July party.  It’s been a family event since I was a young girl.  We also have the Easter egg hunt which involves plastic eggs filled with money that all the kids hunt for.  This started in Arizona with my dad’s family which my mom brought back and has kept up the tradition in our own immediate family.  But for me, it’s important to start some family traditions within our own family.  One that we have started is our Summer Seafood Boil.

It all started with my husband’s birthday.  We were past trying to “celebrate” it in normal terms, he’s too old now to be celebrating every year with birthday cake and presents.  After watching a particularly fun episode of  Alton Brown and his perfect seafood boil we knew we wanted to try it.  I LOVE to entertain.  If I were rich I would host very elaborate parties… all the time!  I just love it.  I love doing the invitations, coming up with a menu, the details and of course the actual socializing.  To me, there’s no better thing.  So after watching this episode we decided it would be super fun to host a seafood boil at our house.

I don’t know what it is about boiling a bunch of crustaceans throwing them in a big pile in the middle of the table and eating with your hands that is so much fun, but it is a blast!  It was such a hit that everyone started asking for it for birthday dinners and all, so instead we make everyone wait until the first weekend in August, for hubby’s birthday for our annual seafood boil.  We are preparing as I write this for the big day this weekend.

So what are your new family traditions?  Do they include just your immediate family or are friends and extended family included?  Do you think it is important to start these new traditions?  Comment and let us hear your ideas.

Oh, and one more thing… Happy Birthday today to my wonderful husband!  You are my everything babe, you make life so much better!  I love you!

Leave a Reply

