Saving Money on Your Grocery Bill

I can’t really say I’m a “frugal” person.  In fact, I’m kind of on the flip  side, I’m brand loyal and usually don’t mind spending a little more if it supports a local small business or if its a brand I trust.  However there is one area that I feel like I have no option but to try to spend the least amount possible… groceries.

We are a family of four.  I am totally the odd “woman” out too being the only female in my household.  My husband, while slender can pack it away and eats a lot.  Every time I make dinner he always goes back for seconds.  My 12 year old is a typical 12 year old growing boy and is hungry just about every 10 minutes.  And trust me, no matter how well I feed him, he always comes back 15 minutes later… “I’m hungry”.  And he really is hungry, not bored because when I tell him “if you’re really hungry you’ll have celery”, he will in fact go in and eat an entire thing of celery!  If I fed my family what I would LIKE to feed them, brand name, organic fruits and veggies, grass fed beef, free range chicken my grocery bill would literally be $1200.  I know this because I tried feeding my family like this for about 2 months, and it did indeed break the bank.

Then one day I was introduced to Coupon Mom and coupon shopping.  I always thought that coupon shopping meant taking hours to cut coupons and going everywhere in town.

Not at all.

The key to coupon shopping is stocking up when items are on sale.  Coupon mom takes the hours of matching up coupons to when the items are on sale out of the process and simplifies it.  I have a binder, each Sunday I pull the coupons out, mark the date and put it in my binder.  When I decide to go grocery shopping I’ll head on over to coupon mom.  Using the Grocery Deals by State, I choose my local grocery store and the database pops up.  I find it best to sort by percent saved, so click the little arrow as shown in figure A.  Some items you can even get for free!

Figure A.

Now, I could rewrite all the instruction on exactly how to use her system, but I would just be regurgitating her words in my poorly written text, so instead, head on over to The Coupon Mom’s YouTube channel and watch her videos.

I know it works, I used to spend $200-$250/week on groceries, since putting her website into practice I have slashed that to $150/week.  My greatest advice is to pick 1-2 stores to shop at.  If you’re driving all over town that makes no sense, I’m sure even coupon mom would not recommend that!

It has definitely worked for me (and my bank account!!)
The Photo Addict

Works-For-Me Wednesday

2 Responses

  1. I’m curious @ this, because I don’t find coupons to be very useful. I shop at Aldi first, then fill in at Kroger, but I don’t buy very much that is brand-name, because I dont’ find it to be worth the extra money. So my husband will say, “Hey, how ’bout a coupon for Johnsonville brats?” And I’ll say, “The generic at Aldi is still cheaper.” Yet so many people swear by this–what am I missing?

  2. grocerygame.com works like this too. You do have to pay for it though. We’ve saved a lot doing it this way too.

Leave a Reply

