Leaving Babyhood Behind

Where did baby go?

Baby's first love.

It seems we began counting down the days until Rocky goes to school since we brought him home from the hospital. Now the day is near and it’s bittersweet. It’s a leap of faith knowing that I can’t protect him during his time there. There will be days of sadness and frustration throughout the school years that he will have to face and deal with himself. Have we prepared him enough?

He’s nervous but ready, I think. I will miss my daily companion but I’m excited for him to experience new things. I trust my child will be forthcoming about everything that goes on at school (he’s that kind of kid) but I’m now left without a child to take to my mom’s group meet-ups (they usually meet in the mornings). I could attend by myself but it kind of feels like a graduation. Going back just isn’t the same. Fortunately, I’ve made some great connections that I will continue to nourish and I can now look forward to forging new friendships with other moms of kindergarteners and participating in the classroom as a room mother, just as my mom did for me.

I have become so used to talking to him that I wouldn’t be surprised to be perceived as the crazy lady at the store talking to herself. If you see such a person, imagine that it might be another mom whose child just started school like mine. No, really, we’re just used to having little ears listening to us! Funny, I remember how awkward it was when I began talking to him as a baby and he wasn’t able to respond. Boy did that backfire, now I have a chatterbox with a big vocabulary he can use to sass me. Moms of infants, take note! I hope he can put it to good use in the classroom but I suspect I may be getting some calls from the teacher.

5 Responses

  1. Congratulations on your “Graduation!” I have THREE kids so if you want to come to a meet-up event you can temporarily adopt one of mine any time you want! I’ll even let you choose which one : ) Seriously though you can come with me as my guest mommy helper. I could always use the help!
    I can’t wait to hear about the Kindergarten adventure : )

    • Thanks for the generous offer of “adoption”! I would always choose the middle child as I can relate. I’ll have to get my bearings with a school schedule and go from there.

  2. This little blog post brought tears to my eyes, knowing exactly what you are going through as I will be going through it in another year. I still have one more set of little ears to listen to me, but anything that has to do with my babies growing up always reduces me to tears (Toy Story 3 anyone?). I know Rocky will do well and so will you Mom. And please join a play date any time at all, you are always welcome!

  3. I forgot to say, what an adorable baby picture!

  4. […] mom will have many feelings about you going off to school. Perhaps a little sadness that you are no longer a baby, but mostly excitement and good feelings for you. You are ready, kid, I’ve given you the tools […]

Leave a Reply

