My Random Thoughts on This Tuesday

I finally discovered Greek yogurt.  I don’t mean I just found out about its existence – just that I finally decided to try it.  I don’t like the taste of plain yogurt and assumed that I would also find Greek yogurt too tangy for my liking.  However, as I type this, I am enjoying a cup of Voskos Greek yogurt blended with honey.  The honey offsets the tanginess just enough, and it’s not as sweet as many other non-fat yogurts, so it doesn’t seem as dessert-like.  Excuse me while I get another bite . . . yum! 

________________________________________________________________________________

I was just talking with some other moms about Super Nanny, and an excellent question was posed.  If your kids were really that discipline-challenged, would you want that broadcast to a national television audience? And, why would you argue with Jo’s advice, when you’re the one that asked for her help in the first place?________________________________________________________________________________

Over the last few years, I’ve noticed the networks really trying to fill the summer TV void by actually airing original summer programming.  I’ve enjoyed it.  The shows aren’t as compelling as in the regular season, but it’s nice to have something new to watch as you’re rocking your baby to sleep.  Unfortunately, this year, I think the shows aren’t worth watching.  In the past, I was a fan of America’s Got Talent, but I really, really don’t like Howie Mandel.  And, I miss the Hoff.  I have found myself getting sucked in to The Bachelorette this summer, instead.  As someone who married her high school sweetheart, I have a hard time with the whole dating around the world concept of the show, but I can’t stop watching!  I have to know who Ali chooses – and if they get engaged!  It’s so awful!________________________________________________________________________________

We enrolled the Big Cheese in swim lessons this year (for the 3rd summer in a row).  This was her first stint without a parent in the pool with her, and it went pretty badly, to be blunt.  She really didn’t like it at all, and she screamed or cried before, during, and/or after almost every lesson.  We were thinking that she must really just not like the water and that swimming just isn’t her thing.  But, then we took her to a pool party, where the entire family was in the water together, and she had a blast.  Yesterday, she was at a party, playing in small kiddie pools on her own and didn’t want to get out of the water – even to eat ice cream.  The lessons were along one side of an Olympic-sized swimming pool, and I think it just boils down to comfort for her.  She was really afraid of that massive pool and never got comfortable there because she really, genuinely, wasn’t having any fun.  I’m happy to know that she does like the water after all and that it’s just a matter of finding the right setting for her.  She may turn out to be a little fish after all.  Maybe we will still enroll her in lessons next year, just somewhere else.

________________________________________________________________________________

I just met a Facebook friend in person for the first time yesterday.  Interesting how the concept of “friend” is so different in social media than in real life.  I am happy to report that she is very nice and someone I will happily call my friend in real life now, too.  We may have started our relationship a little backwards, but, it’s nice to know it worked out.

3 Responses

  1. yes I agree with you on super nanny however if you were having that problem would you not do anything to help resolve it?

  2. Angie, I would want to seek help, but I don’t think I’d do it for TV. I also know that if I sought help, I wouldn’t fight with the helper quite so much. I’m not saying I’d do everything they suggest, but I think I’d be desperate enough to try most anything.

  3. LOL, random thoughts…that’s how I think ALL the time 😉 Swimming: we too enrolled our little ones in swim lessons, however this is their first time. Lil Monkey (3 yo) didn’t like them at all, cried and screamed as he clung on to the instructor (as if he’d NEVER been in water before). This lasted 7 of the 9 days. We chose to take them to another facility, something smaller, only to be informed that “these teachers don’t teach me how to swim. I’m going back to the other place”. Kids…SMH

Leave a Reply

