4th of July Traditions

When I was growing up, the 4th of July meant one thing… fireworks.  My mom always had a pool party with family over and as soon as it got remotely close to dusk, my cousins and I would light the sparklers and take off running around the pool.  In 18 years of that tradition no one ever got hurt.  I do remember one year going to the city’s large 4th of July celebration and one of the professional grade fireworks malfunctioned, shot into the audience and several people got severely hurt.  Which makes me wonder if the small personal fireworks are really THAT dangerous?

So fast forward a little more than a decade.  Our city has banned fireworks.  We have now instilled our own 4th of July tradition.  We still have my moms family 4th of July party, complete with a chili cook off and all the kids (and adults too) play the day away in the pool.  Sometimes the other families head home for their city’s fireworks show, but our city’s fireworks show is walking distance from our home.  We pack up the folding chairs, blankets and walk down to the main event.

I know we can see the fireworks from out backyard, but there is something different about seeing the fireworks show paired with the music.  It really does bring this sense of pride in the nation we call home.  Now that I’m in my mid-thirties and seem to cry at just about anything, I always seem to well up inside every time I listen to the national anthem and those beautifully dangerous fireworks are exploding.    I don’t know  if it really is that beautiful, or if its the stage of life I’m in right now, but that fireworks show gets me every time.

After the show we pack up, make the 15 minute walk back to the house and unveil the fireworks we purchased from the city next to ours.  Sure we MIGHT be breaking a few rules by setting off some fireworks in out front yard… but come on, its the 4th of July, right?

So what do you do for the 4th of July?  Do you have any family traditions or something you do every year?  Comment and let us know.

The Photo Addict

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE the 4th of July! It’s my fav holiday! Fortunately my family still lives in a city where personal fireworks are not banned (Lakewood). We usually always get together at my parent’s house as we have my whole life. It’s been the same house, same people, same routine: Dad BBQing, Mom making baked beans, and everyone else sitting around relaxing and drinking beer : ) Since it’s my and my twin brother’s birthday on the 6th we always celebrate on the 4th since we have the family all there. We always get a dessert of our choice. This year I (I mean “we” LOL) wanted just a plan ol white birthday cake with white frosting and red white and blue happy birthday writing of course. The only thing that changes from year to year is whos name is first on the birthday cake! This year my mom says it’s my turn… LOL

  2. […] family has a lot of traditions, for instance our family 4th of july party.  Its been a family event since I was a young girl.  We also have the Easter egg hunt which […]

Leave a Reply

