Chemicals Are Everywhere!

This number 7 is not so lucky! Find out why.

There has been a growing public awareness in the last decade or so of the impacts of chemicals used in everyday products like shampoos, skin creams and non-stick cookware. It has been reported that even babies in the womb are exposed to many unhealthy substances that we breathe or absorb through our skin. What can we do? Don’t panic. Information is key.

The Environmental Working Group  is a non-profit organization whose mission is to use the power of public information to protect public health and the environment.  Thanks to the tireless efforts of the EWG and other similar groups, we now have a better idea of some of the threats we face. You can help by donating to the cause or simply adding your voice to petitions for legislation that you believe in. You can talk to others about some of the studies found here or do your own research and support companies and products that go out of their way to protect the public’s health. Particularly products for our most precious citizens – our children!

California Baby

California baby products are recommended as safe. The downside is the expense.

Even if you are in disagreement with any of the proposed actions of these groups, you can tap into the helpful databases the EWG has created to find out how potentially harmful the products you are using can be and what other options you have. I use the cosmetics database quite a bit. To be sure, there are many products I use that the list considers at least somewhat hazardous. I really don’t see myself chucking out everything and starting again but I will take the news into consideration when time to replace things like my scotchguard protected couch. I know not to overheat my Teflon covered non-stick pans. I am willing to replace a bottle of sunscreen or use things without fragrances. My water bottles are BPA free. I can be conscious of where my produce comes from and what my clothes are made of and, hopefully, it will reduce the risks just that much more!

Yeah, it’s Friday!

The Librarian

Leave a Reply

