Rambling Thoughts IV

Toy Story 3

Andy is all grown up now. What becomes of his toys?

I cried during Toy Story 3. I tried to hide it but the sniffling gave me away. It surprised me that I would react that way over animated characters but I could relate to saying good-bye to childhood. Keep up the good work, Pixar people, it was worth the wait. If only you didn’t have to hit me over the head with your relentless merchandising in every store we enter, every magazine I read, every web site I visit and, of course, in commercials on television. My 4-year-old has become one of many self-appointed ambassadors for your products. I get it, you want my money!  So far we’ve refrained from everything but Buzz Lightyear shampoo and some character fruit chews. We’ve got a birthday coming up in a couple of months, though. No doubt Toy Story stuff will be on the list.

Rocky accidentally headbutted me. Again. This time it felt like my nose was on fire. Last time my lip. I know my kid doesn’t mean to use his noggin as a weapon but it hurts just the same. Nobody warned me about this part of having a boy. Perhaps my child is just more of a spaz than others? If so, my nephews inherited the same gene.

Thank you, Eloise. The adventures of a little girl who lives in New York’s Plaza hotel with no parental supervision (seriously, where are the parents?) have given me a two week reprieve from all things Star Wars. Sure, she has atrocious manners that he could potentially try to adopt but at least she’s not chopping anyone’s arms off.

Got my kid listening to the Glee soundtrack and singing along with me. At least the kid appropriate songs. He’s never heard of Journey or the Beatles. To him it’s all Glee music. I should correct that perception but last time I tried he just got argumentative. “No, the Glee people sing it, Mommy!” For now we are having fun doing the gleeified Safety Dance.

We just discovered books on cd (available from the library) and it turns out Rocky loves being read to by a stranger doing voices on a disc. Frees up a little time for me to do some reading of my own! Yes!

Here’s a question. If money and time (and babysitting, if applicable) weren’t an issue, where would you like to be right now? I think I’d be at a spa retreat in Napa Valley. Or the fjords in Norway. Ahh. Okay, that was a nice mental break.

HappyRTT! Click the image to find more randomness at the Unmom’s blog.
 

The Librarian

4 Responses

  1. I would be on a beach somewhere enjoying doing nothing. Let someonme else chase my kids for a moment. I’ve been head butted by both of my boys at various times–it’s a boy thing.

  2. I saw that safety dance episode. I don’t watch the show, even though my father insists I’d love it but I watched the one with Neil Patrick Harris that was directed by Joss Wheadon (LOVE HIM) and they did that. It was hilarious.

  3. Julie, that episode was one of the best. My fellow Gen X blogger (Scrivener) did an awesome write up about it. Check it out:

    http://www.genxmomsblog.com/?p=1270

  4. I would be in Positano Italy drinking wine from my balcony. And I sobbed in Toy Story 3, seriously.

    BTW… its not just your kid, because mine hurts me daily. How are their heads so hard?

Leave a Reply

