At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms–Aloha Finishing Pins + GIVEAWAY

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

Today’s At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms features an exclusve Gen X Moms Blog giveaway!

Today’s Mom: Jessica with Aloha Finishing Pins

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your family

I’m a stay at home military wife and mom to three children. Tristan is seven, Sofya is five and the baby, Winnie, is sixteen months. My oldest child has some demanding special needs and I was looking for a creative outlet and a way to “get away” from the demands of motherhood. I started trying out different things and now I’m an amateur photographer often busy running my website, which is about me, my photography and my hair and doing hair tutorials on YouTube.

Tell us about your business

I have an Etsy store that I currently run under my username, Tristanc2003 Aloha Finishing Pins. I make and sell decorative flower hair pins. I’ve had orders from as far away as France! I also, as a side item, sell photocards of photographs I have taken, since I have had interest in those as well. I hope to expand on that in the future, but in the meantime, I have been focusing on my hair pins.

How did you get started in this business?

I have really long hair. In fact, in Hawaii, long hair is pretty common and is ingrained into the culture. I’m always looking for pretty and interesting hair accessories. I’m a little limited because I really try to avoid using elastics and plastic. Unfortunately, a lot of hair accessories are rather elaborate or elvish looking. Simple flower blossoms, which are commonly found here, are stuck on plastic clips that stick up off your head and are often cartoonishly large. I just wanted something simple that I could tuck into my hair and would stay. I found Amish hair pins stay really well and started making my own Hawaiian style hair pins and found there was some interest, so I put them up on Etsy. As for the photocards, there were some inquiries about the photos on my website, so I figured, what the heck? If they don’t sell, I can always use them to send to friends.

Did you have any kind of special education or training?

I haven’t had any training other than the care of my own hair (which can be rather meticulous.) I think that helps me to understand other people’s concerns about the things they stick in their hair.

How do you juggle motherhood and the business?

My oldest son is special needs, so I seldom get time to devote to creating or the business aspect  until after he goes to sleep. Actually, I found that the creating and business aspect is really therapeutic because it’s something all my own and doesn’t have anything to do with mothering or care of the house.

What would you say to other moms interested in opening a similar business?

I’d say go for it! The amazing thing about the world today is that people don’t have to settle for what they are able to find. There’s someone out there making exactly what you’re looking for or is willing to do it custom for an affordable price. Maybe that person could be you!

Do you have any special offers for Gen X Mom readers?

Sure! Anything in the Etsy store 10% of for Gen X readers. Be sure to mention Gen X on your order form and get 10% off.

And now, Jessica gives a special demonstration of her hair pins!

Myspace Layouts

Jessica has generously donated this beautiful set of hibiscus hair pins to one of our lucky readers. To enter, post a comment for the following:

  1. Check out Aloha Finishing Pins and tell us which product is your favorite.
  2. Become a fan of Gen X Moms on Facebook. If you’re already a fan, tell us!
  3. Post about Gen X Moms on Facebook
  4. Tweet about Gen X Moms including a link back to this post
  5. Post about Gen X Moms on your own blog and include a link in the comments
  6. Talk about Gen X Moms on a forum and include a link in the comments
  7. Look at your hair in the mirror and picture how beautiful it would be with these hair pins. Leave a comment telling up.

These could be yours!

6 Responses

  1. […] At-Home Businesses f&#959r Busy Moms–Aloha Finishing Pins « Gen X Moms – Life &#10… […]

  2. The little purple sparkly butterfly pins are so cute! I can envision those in my daughter’s hair. I’m a fan of Gen X Moms on FB, and have this blog linked on our family blog. 🙂

  3. Jessica is making me wish I had very long hair right now. Her pins are beautiful and she makes it look so easy the way she dresses her hair.

  4. The Single plumeria ones are cute 🙂 I’m also a fan of Gen X moms on facebook and I also link from my private blog. Off to link to you on FB! 🙂

  5. […] At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms–Aloha Finishing Pins + GIVEAWAY […]

  6. […] a look at these beautiful hair pins. These can be yours, and entry is simple. Go to the bottom of this post and leave some comments to enter. The contest is still ongoing and the field is wide open! Even if […]

Leave a Reply

