It’s Fun to Play at the YMCA

Need a break from the kids? Check out your local YMCA. Mine has been a godsend for me. The prices are reasonable and they have this wonderful place called the Kid Zone where you can drop your kids off for up to 2 hours while you exercise. I can do Pilates in peace and my boy has a great time visiting with the other children and playing both indoors and out. He has become so familiar with the staff that he is like Norm walking into the Cheers bar. Everybody knows his name. I’m just glad he is having fun so I can be comfortable leaving him there while I take classes.

Swimming at the YMCA

Swimming at the YMCA

My YMCA primarily serves families and senior citizens. This is great because I feel in my element with fellow moms and dads. For a small fee (some are even free with membership) Rocky can participate in plenty of kid classes geared towards his age group. He’s tried basketball, soccer and t-ball. They even have a class that introduces kids to all three. We have also dropped in on Mommy and Me dance classes which are pretty funny. The teacher of this class says Rocky is the only child to make it all the way through the class without quitting. Usually it ends with only the moms dancing but this kid can hold his own.

Rocky currently takes swim classes in the wonderful heated pool on the premises. He’s not sure if he likes it yet but the instructor is very patient with him as he gives long-winded explanations about why he doesn’t want to float or put his head under the water.

As for me, I am free to take any of the classes on the roster and can swim whenever they have open swim hours. I don’t swim but it’s nice to know that I have the option. They offer everything from yoga to zumba (a Latin dance class) to spinning and I am not tied to any particular schedule. I just go whenever it’s convenient for me. I don’t fret about missing any classes. I just take an alternate class at another time or on a different day. On the rare occasion I’m feeling ambitious (or feeling guilty after eating too many pieces of cake) I can stay for two classes. Or I can simply use the equipment in the gym which is another plus.

Just for visiting you can get a free one or two week pass to try it out. My YMCA also has a friend referral program that I have used to get a free month’s membership. Going through tough financial times? Your family may qualify for financial assistance. They also offer YMCA memberships to eligible military families and personnel who may not have access to a nearby military facility.

The YMCA’s mission is “to put Christian principles into practice through programs that build healthy spirit, mind and body for all”. It is a non-profit organization that contributes to the communities it serves which is awesome.  I can feel good about using the gym because I’m also supporting a larger cause.  Works for me!

The Librarian

***The Gen X Moms are no longer writing as a group (too many scheduling conflicts) but you can continue reading about my adventures with Rocky on my new blog at:

http://www.jedismama.com

Works-For-Me Wednesday

Myspace Comments

Thanks to everyone who participated in our Buddha Bunz wipe solution giveway. This week’s winner is…

One Southern Gal!

Send us an email to claim your prize!

5 Responses

  1. I do something similar at Oz Fitness and it’s great. I’ve lost 35 pounds in 8 months and Marin gets to play in the climbing jungle to her hearts content. It’s fabulous!!!

  2. We are DEVOTED to our Y. Discovering the ChildWatch when my son was a baby was HUGE. And we all take really excellent classes. Can’t beat the swimming.

  3. Just send you an email! Thanks for hosting the giveaway… I can’t wait to try it out! 🙂

  4. […] helps out when he’s home, he and Rocky spend time alone together and I have my classes at the YMCA; I don’t hurt for me time. My single friends are few and far between as most have followed the […]

Leave a Reply

