WHAT IS IT ABOUT SHOES?

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

I don’t really like shoes.  I know that may seem like an odd thing for someone to say, but it’s the truth.  I am barefoot as much as possible, and when I do have to wear shoes, I am in my Reef flip flops over 90% of the time. (Yep, I have totally adapted to my SoCal climate.  Socks?  What are those?)  When I was working outside the home, I owned 3 pairs of high heels – one black pair, and two brown pair (and I only had 2 because of a BOGO promo at Payless).  I also own a pair of tennis shoes, and a few pair of dress sandals that I’ve gotten for various dressy outfits. 

Somehow, this awesome low-cost shoe attitude didn’t get passed on in my DNA.  My daughters are shoe addicts.  Bugster doesn’t even walk, yet.  But her shoe collection is vast. 

Bugster's vast collection

Bugster sees shoes and has an almost visceral reaction.  She starts to tremble with excitement and reaches out for them.  She sits on the floor and stretches her legs out in front of her, begging me with her eyes to please, please put those shoes on her feet.  (Bugster is also going through a wonderful shoe eating phase, but I’m just going to overlook that for now . .  .)  Yes, I have bought a lot of these shoes for her.  But little girl shoes are so stinkin’ cute!  And so cheap!  If I could get tennis shoes that were cute, comfy, and stylish for under $20, I would probably own a pair for each day of the week!

I know what you’re thinking: you have 2 girls; what’s the big deal?  I have heard that, as a rule, you shouldn’t hand shoes down because they form to your kids’ feet.  So, except for some special occasion shoes, I haven’t passed any of them down from one to the other.  I should get around to asking our pediatrician if that’s even true.  I imagine I will.  Someday.

Now, The Big Cheese can certainly walk, and she does more than her share of talking (more about that in a future post), so her reaction to shoes is very much a verbal one.  She sees shoes she wants, and she lets you know about it.  About a year ago, The Big Cheese saw a picture of some red Mary Janes in a book and declared that she wanted some just like it.  One phone call to Grandma, and 2 adorable pairs of red shoes arrived in the mail.  (Thanks, Grandma!  They really are cute!)  What is it about little girls’ shoes that has everyone wanting to buy them, including me?

Yep, The Big Cheese wears all of these!

And why, oh why, are my children obsessed with shoes?  There was a rough period where The Big Cheese insisted she had to have a pair of purple tennis shoes.  Unable to find any at a less than criminal price, I stalled.  And stalled.  Thankfully, the purple shoe obsession waned and she moved on to something else.  If this continues, I may have to send them to toddler rehab for shoe addiction – and myself to therapy for being an enabler!

The Legal Eagle

It’s not too late to enter the Gen X Moms giveaway! Click on the sparkle text below.

Myspace Comments

3 Responses

  1. […] WHAT IS IT ABOUT SHOES? «Gen X Moms – Life As A Mom After 30 Socks? What are these?) When I was working outside the home, I was master of three pairs of high heel shoes – one black, brown and two pairs (and I only had 2 Because Of A promotion at Payless Bogo) . I also have a pair of tennis shoes, and a few "pair … […]

  2. I don’t like shoes either! I’m like the anti-girl when it comes to accessories–LOL. I have one pair of Tevas, on pair tennies, one pair Mary Jane style, and on pair black flats. I haven’t had an occasion come up that’s required something else!

  3. I’m not much of a shoe lover myself, but one reason why your kids are attracted to shoes is maybe when you where young yourself you were found of collecting and wearing shoes. Well in my case that’s what happened.

Leave a Reply

