Sting-Free Disposable Baby Wipes

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

A couple of months ago I had a cold and my poor nose was raw from sneezing. I was changing Mouse and I thought “wow, a nice, cool, moist baby wipe would feel great!” I grabbed one, used it, and holy moley, nearly hit the roof it stung so badly. I was surprised as heck because they were scent-free, sensitive skin wipes, but boy, not so sensitive on my sensitive skin. It really made me think of how it must feel on Mouse’s little bottom, especially during a diaper rash. Ouch!

So I set out to find a sting-free wipe experience. Now I already have a stack of cloth wipes and bottles of wipe solution made from “bits” (little cubes that you melt and mix with water), but sometimes the cloth wipes don’t clean all that well and sometimes you just want a wipe you know you’re going to throw away after a massive poo-splosion.

I know what you’re saying. You’re saying, “Kickboxing. Sport of the future.” Or, “Disposable wipes? That’s hardly Conveniently Green, Scriv.” Hey, remember what I said a while back about non-negotiables? Well this is one. I dispose and then use cloth.

Kickboxing. Sport of the future.

Following instructions all over the internet, I tried making my own wipes out of paper towels, but I hated them. They were difficult to get off the roll or to separate when I folded them individually. Plus, Train Guy hated them, and he’s such an active parent I need to take his preferences into account too.

I decided to take my disposable wipes (the ones I’d bought in the 10,000 pack at Costco) and turn them into sting-free wipes. This involved two parts: one, rinse out the chemicals from the existing wipes, and two, using an all-natural wipe solution that wouldn’t hurt sore bottoms (or noses).  So here’s my process:

  1. Open the container of wipes (or in the Costco situation, cut open the bag)
  2. Take a really close whiff of the wipes. You’ll smell a chemical smell or some scent to cover the chemical smell. This is your baseline.
  3. Break the stack in half. This is important and something I only figured out like the fourth time I did it.
  4. Without separating the wipes from its chunk, rinse, rinse, rinse, rinse, rinse the wipes. If you saved clean water from your shower, this is the perfect opportunity to use it.
  5. Rinse until you don’t smell whatever it is you smelled in Step 2 anymore.
  6. Squeeze out the moisture. I do this by carefully rolling them in a towel. They don’t have to be completely dry, but if you’re anal, set them out to dry for a few days.
  7. Place them back into the container and cover with the wipe solution of your choice. I find that 1 cup of solution is usually the perfect amount, and I always use distilled water to keep the solution from going funky.

Et voilà! You’ve got all-natural, sting-free wipes! Now I don’t know if it’s possible to completely rid the wipes of the original chemicals, but I get as close as I can and then do a test-run on my nose.

Now what about wipe solution? Well, the meltable bits got irritating and too high-maintenance, so I tried different recipes I found online and none of them made me happy. Wipe solution needs oil, and the main natural oil we have hanging around is olive oil, and that felt gross on my hands afterwards. I started looking up different oils I could buy (sweet almond oil, etc.) and then it got really complicated and I thought “Why don’t I just buy some solution concentrate from a work-at-home Mom!” My extensive searching then led me to Buddha Bunz Soy Wipe Wash Concentrate.

I can’t even tell you how much I love Buddha Bunz, but I’m going to try. It’s awesome. It’s soy-based for all the vegans in the audience and I can actually pronounce all of the ingredients. It’s heavy-duty but gentle, and doesn’t leave a residue on my hands or my cloth diapers. At one teaspoon per one cup of water, a single bottle has lasted me nearly two months and it looks like I barely made a dent. And on top of all that, you even get to choose your luscious scent.

The great part about Buddha Bunz wipe concentrate is that it’s not just for baby wipes! Whip up some solution for your, ahem, personal feminine needs. Or pour some solution over a couple of baby washcloths and take them along in your purse for gentle, non-drying hand wipes.  I don’t know about you, but I hate instant hand sanitizer because it just smears the dirt around and is gross (and I believe it’s bad for our immune systems). So when you just need to wipe off your hands, Buddah Bunz and washcloths are perfect, or you can use them before or after instant sanitizer to leave your hands soft and nice-smelling.

Melinda at Buddha Bunz offered a free bottle of wipe solution to one of our Gen X Moms readers! Thanks Melinda!

The Scrivener

For more Works for Me Wednesday, click here:

Works-For-Me Wednesday

Looking for more fun giveaways? Check out 5 Minutes for Mom.com!

I have to brag about how clever I am using store-bought wipes in a natural way at

Photobucket

36 Responses

  1. It’s amazing the lengths we will go for our baby’s comfort. What a wonderful idea and so good of you to share it. It’s obvious you worked hard on this experiment and came up with the perfect wipe! Congratulations and lucky little one!

  2. I’m a fan on facebook

  3. Love Buddah Bunz dryer balls!
    Following Buddah Bunz on FB & Twitter..
    As well as Gen X Moms on FB.
    thanks for this chance!

  4. I’m a fan of Buddha Bunz and I love the dryer balls.

  5. Im a facebook fan of gen x moms

  6. subscribed to the blog

  7. Favorite buddha bunz product? Earthday Dryer balls!

  8. I am a fan of buddha bunz on facebook and twitter.

  9. I love the dryer balls!

  10. I am a fan of buddha bunz on fb

  11. the kick boxing quote is from Say Anything, LOVE that movie 🙂

  12. Posted a comment on fb and linked back to this awesome article!

    Plus, I’m a fan of Gen X Moms Blog on fb too

    Oh yeah…and I subscribe to the blog too.

    LOVE U GUYS!!

  13. My WFMW was about wipes too!
    http://eco-novice.blogspot.com/2010/05/wfmw-wiping-my-babys-bottom.html

    And yes, they do have a lot of weird chemicals in those Costco wipes (I used to use those too). But now I love cloth wipes with water only. If that doesn’t work for you, you are using the wrong cloth wipes, sister. My wipes kick disposable wipes’ butt.

  14. I’m a fan of Buddha Bunz on Facebook.

  15. I follow Buddha Bunz on twitter

  16. […] Sting-Free Disposable Baby Wipes GIVEAWAY! […]

  17. Favorite product- her woolie toy balls bc they have painted goodness & a bell in the middle

  18. My fave of her products are the wool dryer balls 🙂

  19. Facebook fan of buddhabunz

  20. Twollower of @buddhabunz (@fentonslee)

  21. I follow Buddha Bunz on Twitter – jdruit

  22. I’m a fan of BB on FB

  23. Taking the pledge 🙂 – “I pledge to use Just a Little Bit Less whenever I think about it for the rest of my life or until I win the lottery, whichever comes first.”

  24. following Buddha Bunz on twitter (@HappyReviews)

    Thanks for hosting this great giveaway!
    osggiveaways at gmail dot com

  25. I love the #111 Wool Dryer Balls!

    osggiveaways at gmail dot com

  26. tweet!

    osggiveaways at gmail dot com

  27. I really like the color wool dryer balls. I haven’t actually tried any yet, but I plan on trying them in the near future.

  28. I am a fan of Gen X Moms on Facebook.

  29. I’ll take the pledge. “I pledge to use Just a Little Bit Less whenever I think about it for the rest of my life or until I win the lottery, whichever comes first.” And we are truly working on this in our house!

  30. […] Sting-Free Disposable Baby Wipes GIVEAWAY! […]

  31. […] Sting-Free Disposable Baby Wipes GIVEAWAY! […]

  32. […] Sting-Free Disposable Baby Wipes GIVEAWAY! […]

  33. I have taken the Conveniently Green pledge – and pledge also to think about being Green even when it is not so convenient!

  34. The dryer balls sound great! I think I’d like the natural undyed and unscented ones.

  35. I took the Conveniently Green pledge, but even if I win the lottery, I’d still want to use less!

  36. The quote is from the character Llyod Dobler in the movie “Say Anything”

Leave a Reply

