What’s In Your Purse?

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

When is the last time you emptied your purse (or diaper bag as the case may be)?  I try to empty mine at least once a month but try is the operative word here.  Doesn’t always happen!  Whenever it’s been longer than that, Rocky and I like to make a game of it.  We just never know what treasures we will rediscover in mommy’s purse.  Here are just some of the things we found this week: 

  • Purple Mardi Gras beads we got from a parade in Disneyland several months back
  • A green toy dragon with one of its wings missing
  • An extra diaper (Rocky doesn’t wear diapers anymore!)
  • Stale, half-eaten cereal bar (eww)
  • Mickey Mouse pez dispenser
  • Extra ear buds for my iPod
  • Stamps!  (I knew I had some somewhere)
  • A coupon for a free breakfast at Chick-fil-a (score!)
  • A business card for a piano tuner (hey, I’ve been looking for that!)
  • A sorry-looking toy car without one of its wheels (why on earth did I keep this?)
  • Random plastic caps (to what I have no idea)
  • A bag of Chuck E. Cheese tokens (no wonder my purse was so heavy!)
  • A cool hand sanitizer pen I didn’t even know I had
  • Broken crayons that have been discoloring the inside of the purse (doh!)
  • Expired Neosporin (oops)
  • Clips and hair bands of various shapes and sizes (my hair is shorter now)
  • Baby hairbrush (no babies here)
  • Gorgeous postcards promoting Sprouts photography (shameless plug  – check it out)
  • Small flash drive containing Ben Folds Five music that my sister-in-law gave me (JACKPOT!)

    Things found in a mom's purse

    Things found in a mom's purse

I confess I just put that last thing in a few days ago but it was still a nice find.  Maybe I should leave it in there so I can discover it again next month!  Too bad Let’s Make a Deal isn’t on anymore.  I’m ready. 

BONUS TIP:  This is random and nothing to do with today’s post but I just wanted to pass on this tip I got from an uncle who works as a flight attendant.   Check this out if you have plans to fly with a young child in the future.  http://www.kidsflysafe.com/ 

The Librarian

2 Responses

  1. Yes you are ready for Let’s Make a Deal! My husband just helped me clean out my purse a few weeks ago as he was tired of me complaining that its too heavy and that I cannot find anything. Odd things inside include a golf ball that my son must have slipped in there, an old day planner calendar from 2008, and my healing sounds CD. I am a pack-rat with receipts and never throw them away. My husband must have thrown out 30 to 40 of them. My purse is much lighter now! Thanks for the amusing post about your purse! =)

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gen X Moms Blog. Gen X Moms Blog said: What's in your purse? https://genxmoms.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/whats-in-your-purse/ […]

Leave a Reply

