Conveniently Green–Reusable Swim Diapers

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

Swim season is upon us (or nearly upon us if you aren’t lucky enough to live in a sunny locale), and for moms of babies, that means it’s time to think of swim diapers. Yay.

When I first saw disposable swim diapers, my thought was, “Wait, how does that hold anything in?” Even as a first-time mom I knew that “S/M” size is not going to fit everyone in the range of small to medium. The disposable diapers don’t absorb anything, and are ostensibly just to hold in poop, should that occur. Except have you ever seen a bunch of toddlers walking around in disposable swim diapers? You see more buttcracks than a plumbing convention. And an exposed baby buttcrack is just a ticking time bomb.

When we enrolled Mouse in his first swimming lessons at 4 months, I saw the disposables and saw that you can buy another cute swimsuit to go over the disposable. But I thought, “Surely someone makes a swim diaper that’s reusable.” Guess what? They do! In fact, reusable swim diapers are required in public pools in 27 states (but not California).

Mouse at 4 months in his iPlay swim diaper

What makes them different? Well, the resuable diapers have a soft layer against the baby’s skin, an inner absorbent layer, a waterproof outer layer, and then a cute swimsuit-pattern layer on top of that. But do they work? We bought an iPlay Ultimate Swim Diaper, and let me tell you–they work.

The iPlay diaper is tight-fitting which can make it a little difficult to tug on and off, but once in the water it’s practically bomb-proof. In fact, when we first get Mouse into the water, the air in the suit expands and he’s got a bubble-butt because the suit is so snug, the air can’t escape. And if air can’t escape, you know what else can’t escape? Exactly!

We love our iPlay swim diapers, and my only complaint is that if you leave them in the sun too long, they do fade. But other than that, I give the iPlay diaper 5 stars!

And guess what? Reusable swim diapers are Coveniently Green! Sure, you may end up washing the occasional poop (hasn’t happened to us yet and we swim once a week), but think of all of the disposable swim diapers you’re not buying and not throwing away, and if you wore a swim suit over the disposable in the first place, then you’re already washing.

You can purchase iPlay swim diapers and other brands of swim diapers many places. I recommend My Swim Baby and have had many great transactions there.

The reusable swim diaper–it’s cute, it’s better than the disposables, and it saves the planet. Works for me!

The Scrivener

Works-For-Me Wednesday

14 Responses

  1. I love reusable swim diapers. They seem more sanitary than disposable to me. I’d rather the poop be contained in an airtight diaper than “absorbed” by those disposable swim diapers.

  2. We have had a harder time with them fitting snugly on the older boys, but the poop is less yucky when they are eating solid foods anyway, so it didn’t seem to matter.
    (Not that we are poop talkers)

  3. I use cloth diapers on my girls all the time and so I use the covers with no inserts – they are perfect. No leaks and I already have them. 🙂

  4. I love the iPlay brand and found it after one too many gross experiences with a water park and a toddler swim diaper leaking! The place where my kids take swim lessons actually requires double swim diapers — yep, 2 just to be safe and at least one of them has to be the iPlay brand!

  5. […] Conveniently Green–Reusable Swim Diapers « Gen X Moms – Life as a mom after 30 […]

  6. Ahhhh… i have to say that ‘swim diapers’ have never been my idea of fun.

    What a great topic for a web post. Ha ha.

  7. Oh, Thanks for posting this! I hadn’t seen these.
    Quick question… how horrid would they be to actually get off “neatly” if there is a gross mess inside, given how tight they are?

    Next question… what about chunky thighs? too tight?

  8. I love this! I don’t have kids yet, but whenever I see babies in the pool, it grosses me out. Granted, my mother had me in baby swimming lessons at 9 mo., but ew…I would’ve hated have been the swim team diving in after that. Glad to hear these diapers work. What a relief! Please, please gift these to all your pregnant friends so that eventually they’ll catch on everywhere.

  9. I love the Imse Vimse swim diaper. Who cares about pee? Just keep the poop in please! I will have to check out the iPlay brand.

  10. I have one of these for my 20 month old….LOVE IT!

    HOWEVER, at our community/on military base pool recently, I had a COMPLETELY clueless employee snottily tell me “we require that you use a disposable swim diaper, because it holds in pee, as well as the poo”

    WHA? *rolls eyes*

    I put the disposable swim diaper on him, but need to go back and take in some info. I’d like to ask for an apology, but ummm…I doubt I’d get it.

  11. Ahhhh… i have to say that ‘swim diapers’ have never been my idea of fun.

    What a great topic for a web post. Ha ha.

  12. We have had a harder time with them fitting snugly on the older boys, but the poop is less yucky when they are eating solid foods anyway, so it didn’t seem to matter.
    (Not that we are poop talkers)

  13. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash

Leave a Reply

