At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms: Usborne Books and More

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

So many moms want to run an at-home business. Whether it’s to pay a few extra bills, have more money to splurge on lip gloss that goes unappreciated by everyone except our other mommy friends, or just continue a hobby and use our brains, starting an at-home business can be scary but exciting. In this feature, Gen X Moms interviews a variety of moms who run at-home businesses. Be sure to read all the way to the bottom where you’ll find exclusive offers just for Gen X Mom readers!

Today’s Mom: Melissa with Usborne Books and More

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your family
I am a full-time SAHM with 2 daughters under the age of 3.  I used to have a very steressful job that was very demanding and a lot of hours, so I was happy to leave it behind when I had the chance.  But, I was looking for something to do to provide some balance and that would provide some intellectual engagement that’s above a preschool level.

Tell us about your business
Usborne Books and More is a direct sales business at home parties and to schools and libraries.

How did you get started in this business?
I was toying with working at a bookstore part time because I harbor thoughts of one day opening a children’s bookstore.  Then, my friend told me about a business I could do at home that would allow me to learn about kid’s books and still be at home.

Did you have any kind of special education or training?
Nope!  Just a great supervisor who trained me over the phone (we live 2 time zones apart)

How do you juggle motherhood and the business?
I hold home shows in the evenings or on weekends when my husband is home with the kids.  I also have been able to take my kids with me to weekday book shows and to storytimes I conduct at businesses that double as playdates for the kids.  Otherwise, I do my work during naptime and after bedtime.

What would you say to other moms interested in opening a similar business?
You can work as little or as much as you’d like, and you can make as little or as much as you like.  Usborne Books are awesome, and, without any prompting from me, many of them have become my girls’ favorites.  Selling them has allowed me to fill our bookshelves with really great books for a very small fraction of the price.

Do you have any special offers for Gen X Mom readers?
Any blog reader who hosts a party before the end of June will get an extra free book in addition to the amazing hostess rewards we offer.
Any blog reader who orders books will receive a 10% discount if the place the order within the next 2 weeks.  However, to get this discount, you must email me the order directly at: booksfromatoz@gmail.com.  Any, if the order is over $100, you will get FREE SHIPPING!

Stop by Melissa’s Usborne Books and More site today!

2 Responses

  1. […] At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms: Usborne Books and More « Gen X … […]

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by News Tips 4 Mamas. News Tips 4 Mamas said: At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms: Usborne Books and More « Gen X … http://bit.ly/azPlML […]

Leave a Reply

