Spin Cycle: Quotable Quotes

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

Thanks everyone for playing along! Correct answers are in bold below!

I just love the Spin Cycle over at Sprite’s Keeper, but I rarely get a post up in time. So I’m getting an early start! This week’s Spin Cycle topic is quotations. Don’t we all love quotations? We use several in our daily lives in this house. See if you can identify them. First one to get them all right wins…my praise and admiration.

However, if you want to win a real prize, it’s not too late to enter our Conveniently Green Giveaway!

On to the quotes:

  1. You know those times where there’s a certain stink in the air, so you A) lift your child up to take a whiff at his bottom (something I swore I would never do), or B) pull back the diaper to take a peek, or C) actually get the kid in changing position only to find an empty diaper? We call those moments, “Sound and fury, signifying nothing.” Macbeth
  2. When something turns out to be a much heftier task than anticipated (such as a major diaper blowout): “We’re gonna need a bigger boat.” Jaws, of course!
  3. Got any cash? “I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!” Better Off Dead
  4. “It’s business time” Flight of the Conchords
  5. When trapped in the snow: “[Name] lay there like a slug. It was his only defense.” A Christmas Story
  6. “I wouldn’t touch that with a thirty-nine-and-a-half-foot-pole” How the Grinch Stole Christmas
  7. “Mutha Ucka!” Flight of the Conchords again
  8. “I wish you could meet my girlfriend, my girlfriend who lives in Canada” (or just shortened to “He’s the kind of guy who has a girlfriend in Canada”) Avenue Q–see it!
  9. “And now, a commercial directed toward the elderly” This was a very brief one-liner in a recent episode of 30 Rock when Jack is on the tv talk show.
  10. “That’s what she said” The Office

Take your best guesses, and leave your own favorite quotes in the comments!

Head over to Sprite’s Keeper for some more Spin Cycle.

The Scrivener

15 Responses

  1. Oh, I’m just terrible at this! The few I know…

    2. Jaws
    5. Christmas Story
    6. Grinch

    3 out of 10 is lousy. I want to hear the answers!

  2. 3. Better off Dead
    10. The office?

  3. JAWS!!!!!
    Number 2, of course. That quote was burned into my brain from 1995-1997 when I worked on the ride at Universal Studios.
    #1 is Macbeth.
    The rest I will have to turn to Google for. Especially for #9. The saying alone had me laughing. You’re linked!!!

  4. Good job guys! Correct answers so far:

    1. Macbeth
    2. Jaws!
    3. Better Off Dead
    5. A Christmas Story
    6. How the Grinch Stole Christmas
    10. The Office

    Keep the guesses coming! Hint: #s 4 and 7 are the same source

  5. #4 and #7 are from Avenue Q. πŸ˜‰

    I’m so bad at figuring out where quotes came from, and #9 really has me stumped! Great Spin! πŸ™‚

  6. I, obviously, don’t get out much because I don’t recognize any of those.

  7. @Stacy–close!!! 4 and 7 are not from Avenue Q, but there is an Avenue Q quote in there πŸ™‚

  8. #8 is Avenue Q! How awesome was that play? I’m still laughing 4 years later …

  9. OK, here goes:
    1–Macbeth
    2–Jaws
    3–Better off dead (I say this one all the time)
    4–Flight of the conchords
    5–A Christmas Story
    Don’t know the rest
    10–The Office

  10. You like Avenue Q? I have been wanting to see that show for YEARS! I’m not ashamed to say my favorite song is the Internet song. πŸ™‚

  11. Avenue Q is so awesome I’ve seen it twice and will gladly see it again the next time it’s in town. In fact, you should drive out of town to see it.

  12. Interesting! Welcome to the Spin! I’ve only seen half of those movies and can’t remember any of those quotes. The half I’ve seen shows how immature I must be.

  13. I know “that’s what she said” gets used a lot. But I still really like to try to squeeze it in whenever I can…

    …That’s what she said.

    ha ha!

  14. Maybe it’s just me, but I think I see all the answers in bold. Never was any good at guessing anyway.

    “That’s what She said” has been used for years even before The Office started using it.

    I forget where this one came from, but here’s one:
    “I’m Pinching your head…”

    Great Spin,

  15. I enjoyed those.

Leave a Reply

