Conveniently Green–True Confessions

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

So the other day I had a couple of moms and my Sainted Mother-in-law over (seriously, the woman is a saint. And I don’t mean that in a “why so snarky, Sparky?” kind of way) and my SMIL wanted to take some food home to my father-in-law and brother-in-law. Photo Addict happened to be standing nearby, and when I pulled open the kitchen drawer, she gasped as though she’d just seen a severed hand in there.

It's a severed hand! And by severed hand I mean Ziploc bags!

No, seriously. She gasped so loudly I actually looked to see if I’d accidentally left a severed hand next to the plastic wrap.

“ZIPLOC BAGS!!!!!” She cried.

It’s true confession time at Conveniently Green. I use Ziploc bags. Even worse–I almost never re-use them either. Yes folks, I’m going Conveniently Green right along with you. That whole “Just a Little Bit Less” applies to me too. I’m maybe one or two steps ahead of you–but then again, many of you are several steps ahead of me. Just want you all to know I’m not some kind of Paragon Of Green Virtue or anything. I do, however, test out all of my suggestions myself, so it’s not a case of “take my advice–I’m not using it!”

The funny thing is, people are becoming seriously aware of what they’re doing. I know this because they keep reporting it to me. For example, over at the SoCal FruGal’s house, Mommica returned from the kitchen and said, “Just so you know, I dried my hands on a paper towel but I saved the towel for the next time I need to dry my hands.” “Conveniently Green!” shouted the SoCal FruGal. “Conveniently Green!” Mommica echoed in response.

“What???” said Anonymous Mom #3. One of these women doesn’t read the blog. I don’t want to mention any names, so I called her Anonymous Mom #3. But girlfriend needs to get onboard or she’s going to singlehandedly melt the ice floes and drown us all. And nobody wants that.

There's another one! Where does the carnage end???

At another playdate, we were talking about going green and Signing Mom asked, “How green are you willing to go?” I responded, “Uhhhhhh, 75%?” as though there were some kind of Green Rating and I was shooting for a C+. Signing Mom then talked about her ideal future–a ranch somewhere with a lot of land, living almost completely off the grid. As she talked about raising and slaughtering her own pigs, I’ll admit that the thought of a lifetime supply of bacon was seriously appealing, but then again, knowing that bacon on a personal level prior to its hickory-smoked deliciousness doesn’t sound that fabulous after all. Honestly, I truly admire Signing Mom (for more reasons than just her commitment to creating her own solar and wind energy), but I really think I’m going to have to visit her after the pig has been turned into bacon.

Mmmmmmmmmm…bacon. God’s gift to carnivores.

Conveniently Green: Use just a little bit less right along with me!

And speaking of severed hands, every Gen X Mom should appreciate The Chopped-Off Hands of Star Wars.

The Scrivener

The Gen X Moms blog is now accepting submissions for our Silent Sunday feature! If you’ve got a cute kid picture, or a kid-related picture, and want the fame, fortune, and adulation of being featured on the Gen X Moms blog, shoot us an email!

Can’t get enough of the Scriv? Follow me on Twitter!

11 Responses

  1. LMAO!! My gasp wasn’t THAT loud, I was just happy to see that even YOU are still using ziploc bags. and btw… I love my cloth napkins and I always have my bags at the grocery store.

  2. I think that if Anonymous Mom #3 doesn’t read the blog, then it’s fair play to talk about her behind her back.

    Yeah, those Ziplocs are just so damned convenient. It would be hard to get rid of them altogether.

  3. I esp. love the freezer bags to store all that chicken I buy in bulk.

    Hey, thanks for the random Star Wars bit. I can see how it so handily ties in with going green. Let me return the favor by sending Rocky to your house to reenact those scenes for you. Last night’s convo: “The death star is not finished yet. I’m going to wait until the morning when it is finished and then destroy it again Want to help me, Mommy?”

  4. Thanks for confessing about your ziplock bags. I guess it’s okay to put them in the kitchen drawer now instead of hiding them in the pantry. I feel liberated!

  5. Plastic baggies and Q-Tips are my nonnegotiable items, period! I personally feel that if I go far enough to use family cloth I get a little leverage… somewhere!

    P.S. I almost never re-use my baggies either!

  6. […] pretty good at, but other plastic bags I find along the way. I’ve previously confessed my love for Ziploc and don’t know if I’m ever going to find an alternative that makes me happy, but […]

Leave a Reply

