A Wish Fulfilled

We are no longer writing as Gen X Moms but you can find me at www.jedismama.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

Chateau Lake Louise

Ice skating on Lake Louise

I first learned about Lake Louise in a book I read about some of the world’s most romantic locations.  I saw a photo of a grand old-fashioned hotel and there were people dressed in Victorian era clothes, ice skating on the frozen lake just below it.  The lake is located in the majestic Canadian Rockies in Banff National Park, Alberta.  I fell in love with the idea of the Chateau Lake Louise and told my husband that skating on the lake was on my list of things to do before I die.  “It looks REALLY cold there,” said my SoCal guy.  “I’ll take you there in the summer”.  He did and we had an amazing time hiking in the area.  The place was gorgeous, the only way to describe it is that it is like being inside of a postcard.  But I still longed to ice skate on that lake.

View from our room

Million dollar view from our room

Years later I got word from my Canadian buddy, a friend from college who is now a successful wildlife photographer in the area (his work is awesome, check it out at www.wildernessprints.com).  “Guess what?” he says.  “ I’m getting married at the Chateau Lake Louise – in March!  Come and skate!  And kids are welcome.”  Well he didn’t have to ask me twice.  We saved.  We went.  I skated.  My little boy got to experience snow for the first time in the most incredible winter wonderland imaginable. We rode on a sleigh and rented a toboggan.  My son made his first snow angel and had numerous snowball fights with his dad.  We made some new friends and attended a lovely wedding.  The special wedding rate we got made it somewhat affordable for us to stay there and I managed to get us an upgrade to a room with a fabulous view.  It was so worth living on an even tighter budget now that it is over. 

The Librarian

Chateau Lake Louise

Chateau Lake Louise from afar

Sleigh horses

These horses pulled our sleigh - what a treat

4 Responses

  1. All I can say is……WOW! God’s majesty.

  2. I absolutely love Canada! Your photos are beautiful, and as a former figure I can honestly say I’m a bit envious. This trip looks amazing, and its even more amazing that you got to cross something off your bucket list. Bravo!

  3. That looks amazing! What a great thing to share with your son!

  4. So great to have you there Librarian, and to share in our wonderful winter wonderland wedding in Wake Wouise…ha-ha, Lake Louise. I don’t think a day goes by living here that I don’t wish everyone could come visit and discover how magical this place is!

Leave a Reply

