Movies We Love – John Cusack

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

Say Anything

Classic John Cusack Scene

Like most stay-at-home moms, I don’t get out to the movies much.  It is all about rentals these days and it’s just not the same. I do enjoy, however, reminiscing about the movies I saw in the theater in the days before my child was born.  Just for kicks I’ll pick an actor whose career has stood the test of time. Hmm. Let’s say John Cusack. I like him as an actor (TOTALLY disagree with his politics but that is a whole other blog!) and, as such, always thought he was underrated.  According to the IMBd, JC has been in 57 movies over the last 30 years or so. That’s impressive. So what’s your favorite John Cusack movie of all time? 

I am a bit conflicted. My first instinct was to say The Sure Thing. The scene where “Gib” and Daphne Zuniga had to hitch a ride with Tim Robbins and sing show tunes still makes me laugh. But then I remembered Better Off Dead.  Ooh and One Crazy Summer with Demi Moore. And the classic movie, Say Anything. Lloyd Dobler was offbeat but adorable. There are so many memorable quotes from that movie that several web sites such as this one have collected them. I liked this response to Lloyd’s plans for the future.

Lloyd Dobler: I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or  processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.

Here’s a bit of trivia I picked up recently. Did you know that Peter Gabriel’s song “In Your Eyes” was actually written for Roseanna Arquette whom he dated for a while? That was a total letdown for me. Toto also wrote the song “Roseanna” about her. Who knew the woman was such a muse?  Oh and the scene where Lloyd holds up the boom box outside of Diane’s window almost didn’t happen because Cusack thought it was just too cheesy to work. 

Moving on, I decided to just pick a few for each decade. I know it’s a cop-out but there were just so many I liked on the list. So for the 90s my first pick is Gross Pointe Blank. If you haven’t seen it, I recommend it. It is violent but in a funny way. Not a big Minnie Driver fan but she was good in it. The Grifters was excellent, too, though on the serious side. It was nominated for some Oscars but John himself wasn’t.  Boo. My third pick would be Being John Malkovich just because it was so darn quirky. I won’t even try to explain it, you have to see it for yourself. See if you can recognize Cameron Diaz in it.  

So that brings us into the 00s. My son was born in 2005 so I really never got to see all his movies in the theater for the whole decade but of the ones I did see I liked the comedy High Fidelity and John Grisham’s Runaway Jury.  I also thought Martian Child was endearing but didn’t see it in the theater so not sure if it should count.  

Next up my husband and I are anticipating his latest film called Hot Tub Time Machine. I think the name says it all! And guess what? It’s about the 80s! Who wouldn’t want to see a cool movie about the 80s?  Certainly not this Gen X mom. It comes out at the end of March. Perhaps it will be my first favorite for the 10s, let’s hope it doesn’t disappoint! Trailer for Hot Tub Time Machine 

The Librarian

6 Responses

  1. I love John Cusack! And I agree–totally underrated. Better Off Dead nearly got my vote (“I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!!!”) but I just had to go with kickboxing–sport of the future.

    And really, who of us DIDN’T want Lloyd Dobler outside of our window with his boom box? *sigh*

  2. I will always laugh at Better off Dead, that was a fave with my and my girlfriends in highschool!

  3. Oh, and Hot Tub Time Machine? DATE NIGHT!!!

  4. I can’t wait for Hot Tub Time Machine… it looks most excellent! Better Off Dead will always be my favorite… I love him!

  5. Say Anything!

  6. If you like John Cusack, make sure to check out the 2012 facebook page 🙂 http://bit.ly/kBzNs

Leave a Reply

