Works For Me Wednesday: Flylady

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

When I was a working mom I had a cleaning lady.  Oh how I longed for those Friday afternoons, coming home from work, the house smelling like Pine-sol, the floors could be eaten off of and all the sheets were crisp and clean.  Then I decided to stay home with my kids, which meant a lot of cost-cutting, and that meant getting rid of the cleaning lady!  I figured sure, no problem, I can be my own cleaning lady.  Every other week on Friday I’ll clean the house top to bottom as if I was her.  Did that become my reality?  Of course not.  Several months later I found myself swimming in piles of laundry, sleeping on 3 week dirty sheets and piles of dishes in the sink.  Checkmate… the house won.

The Flylady

Enter Flylady.

The Flylady (a term coin for Finally Loving Yourself), is a website and email list that helps you build little habits.  You start with a very simple task, go shine your sink.  It sounds way too basic to make any difference, however, going to bed, with a clean kitchen really did make a big difference.  Next, get dressed to your shoes in the morning.  It works like that, every step you’re adding little habits to your routine.  You’re not going crazy and cleaning for hours on end, its based on little tidbits every day and the 15 minutes of XYZ.  You can do anything for 15 minutes.  Turn on the timer and declutter for 15 minutes, voila, a clean countertop.  One of my favorite says, “a load a day, keeps the chaos at bay”.  I no longer has Mount Rushmore next to my laundry basket.  Nope every morning, after I’m showered, dressed to my shoes, and my bed is made, I throw in a load of laundry.  When the load is done, I reward myself with sitting on the couch and watching some tv while folding clothes.

But be forewarned, don’t try to do all the habits at once.  Go to the Flying lessons and “start here” .  Baby steps, baby steps.  This really has worked for me, anyone can stop in at my house and I’m ok with it, just don’t judge all the toys all over my front room.  Too bad she doesn’t have a flylady for toddlers!!

The Photo Addict

14 Responses

  1. Fan of the flylady …. she has great concepts! And, I have used/adapted many of her flyways!

    Blessings,
    Bella
    http://lildaisies.blogspot.com/

  2. I ❤ Flylady!!!

  3. Flylady works for me too.

  4. Wow – great idea! I work full time and I know I need to be more effecient.

  5. I used to be an avid FLYlady fan. I still use a lot of her wisdom, but with more children in the house, I’ve had to change things up quite a bit. However, I still believe her methods were what finally taught me HOW to keep my house clean. Lifesaver!

  6. Flylady is wonderful, isn’t she! I have used so many of her ideas to help our household routine and have tried to share her site with others. Thanks for reminding me today!

  7. I was in melt down I-can’t-keep-the-house-clean-woe-is-me mode when a friend suggested flylady. She has been my saving grace! I still flutter, but things are WAY better now. My husband even noticed my new ways! I try to suggest her to anyone and everyone. thanks for the great article!

  8. You know, I tried Flylady for a while. I loved her whole concept of taking it a day at a time. But I made the mistake of signing up for her emails, which just kept coming and coming, until they completely overwhelmed me. I started deleting them, then feeling guilty about it. So…I recommend going for the Fly, but avoiding the emails.

  9. Love FlyLady! Still fluttering!! 😀

  10. Thanks for visiting my blog and your kind comments. Did you know your message was sent to me as a no-reply?

  11. I like the Fly Lady. Thanks for sharing and reminding me to “FLY”.

  12. Thank you for the tip!!!!!!!!!

  13. You did a terrific job of summing up Flylady and how her routines work. It really is just about getting into good habits, which doesn’t come naturally to all of us 😉 But her “shine your sink,” “get dressed to your shoes” advice helps a lot. I also like what author Joanna Weaver says: Just do the next thing. Maybe it’s throw in a load of laundry. Maybe it’s bring back the library books. Just breaking down the tasks to small bits seems to help.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, by the way. I hope you get the chance to make some blue cheese dressing and eat some buffalo wings soon 🙂

  14. I too had a cleaning lady and then became a SAHM and now am my own cleaning lady.
    It doesn’t always go to schedule but there is great accomplishment when it does!

    I’ve heard of but never tried FlyLady. Maybe I should give her a try!

Leave a Reply

