I Love My Mommy, But…

I love my mommy, but…she is always telling me what to do.

I love my mommy, but…I sometimes get scared when she is mad.

I love my mommy, but…I wish she would remember to bend down when she talks to me.

I love my mommy, but…I get upset when she doesn’t understand me.

I love my mommy, but…I hate when she makes me wait.

I love my mommy, but…she tries to make me sleep and I don’t like it.

I love my mommy, but…I don’t always want to go the places she wants to go.

I love my mommy, but…I have a hard time getting her attention when she is talking to others.

I love my mommy, but…it isn’t fair that I never get to be the boss.

I love my mommy, but…I can’t wait to be bigger.

Sometimes we moms forget what it is like to be a small child on the receiving end of things. So many decisions are out of his control and it is frustrating not to be able to do the things grown-ups take for granted. It is a challenge being a parent but it is also tough being a kid. Next time you are having a hard time with your little one, try switching your perspective. Putting yourself in your child’s shoes just might give you the insight you need to help keep your sanity.

The Librarian

***The Gen X Moms are no longer writing as a group (too many scheduling conflicts) but you can continue reading about my adventures with Rocky on my new blog at:

http://www.jedismama.com

One Response

  1. Wow! Sooooooo true! I forget to think what it must be like for my little guys. Thanks for reminding us that little kids have feelings too 🙂

Leave a Reply

