At-Home Businesses for Busy Moms: Tastefully Simple

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

So many moms want to run an at-home business. Whether it’s to pay a few extra bills, have more money to splurge on lip gloss that goes unappreciated by everyone except our other mommy friends, or just continue a hobby and use our brains, starting an at-home business can be scary but exciting. In this feature, Gen X Moms will interview a variety of moms who run at-home businesses. Be sure to scroll to the bottom where you’ll find exclusive offers just for Gen X Mom readers!

Today’s Mom: Monica with Tastefully Simple

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your family
I am married to a wonderful man for 6 years now and have 2 boys.  KK is 3 and Little Monkey is 15 months.  I split my time between being a wife and SAHM (the most important part of my time), running a direct sales business, running a mommy group and working part time as a website administrator for my brother’s seminar company.  My husband goes out and works the daily grind so I can stay home and raise our children.  My boys are smart, funny and adorable!  (what mom would say otherwise?) and I love teaching them new things and seeing the light bulb go on in their little faces.  I love unsolicited hugs and kisses.  I try to write down every funny or cute thing they say so I will remember it 20 years from now.  We love to go camping in our motor home, at the beach or in the mountains.  My husband is in a rock n roll band, Hall Pass,  and I am a belly dancer on hiatus.  I guess we have performing in our family!  When my little monkey gets a bit older, I plan to go back to dancing.  I also love to do whatever I can to help people and I am able to help a lot of people through my business and my mommy group.

Tell us about your business
I am a consultant for Tastefully Simple.  It is a wonderful company that creates and sells delicious, easy-to-prepare foods, seasonings and sauces.  It is a direct sales business and most of my sales are done through in-home taste testing parties.  I also do boutiques and other expo events a few times a year in addition to re-order sales.  Re-orders are great because you don’t really have to do any work other than make a phone call.  Once your clients have eaten through their last order, they are hungry for more!

How did you get started in this business?
I had been looking for a way to earn money while still staying home after my second son was about 2 months old.   I saw a post about a special they were running and decided to learn more about it.  When I found out it was selling food, I thought, “I can do that, everyone needs food”.  I was right, it has proven to be a great thing to sell food!

Did you have any kind of special education or training?
I didn’t have any special training to get started, but have listened in on or attended lots of training sessions since signing up.  You get everything you need to start off with a bang and then are constantly offered more training and support from the company’s headquarters and your team leaders.  There is as much training and support available as you want to make use of.

How do you juggle motherhood and the business?
I have learned to carve out a daily schedule that allows me chunks of time during the day (nap time) or evening (bath time) to make phone calls or send out marketing materials or just organize my supplies.  I also have a set party schedule that is just 2 Saturday afternoons a month.  I have had to re-adjust my schedule over time as my kids’ nap times have changed, but all my clients are wonderful and understanding people.  Most of them are moms too and know just what I am up against.

What would you say to other moms interested in opening a similar business?
I would say that if you are looking for something to do for yourself, this is it!  I get so much more than just money from running my business.  I used to work in corporate America before becoming a SAHM and missed the adult conversation, accolades for a job well done and sense of accomplishment.  I have found all of those things again with my Tastefully Simple business.  Plus, I don’t have to report to an office every day, all day long.  I can work as much or as little as I like and my income will reflect that.  I really enjoy having something in my life that is “mine”.  Besides, I believe this is the easiest product ever to sell.  Everyone eats so everyone is a potential client!  People love to have taste testing parties because they are low key and low pressure and you get to eat!  What could be more fun?

Do you have any special offers for Gen X Mom readers?

One of the things I hear often is “how do you find people to have parties?”  My offer to the Gen X Moms blog readers is this:  If you would like to sign up to be a Tastefully Simple consultant, I will give you one of the parties from my calendar.  I will be there with you to do the party, but you will get the commission as well as any new party bookings or recruits for your own.  This will give you a start to your own client base.  We have an $89 startup kit called “Just a Taste” so you can try this business on for size.  If you decide it’s not for you, then you can just eat your supplies!  Not many businesses offer you that option!

Visit Monica’s Tastefully Simple site today!

One Response

  1. Nice interview, great info

Leave a Reply

