We’re Not Watching the Superbowl

Gen X Moms has moved to www.GenXMomsBlog.com. Don’t forget to update your bookmark!

Yes, that’s right. Train Guy and I are not watching the Superbowl. No chili cookoff, no 7-layer bean dip, no buffalo wings, no pondering the relative benefits of tasting great or being less filling. It’s positively un-American. I even hesitate to post this here, lest we get our house stormed and are hauled off to Canada or someplace where “football” actually means “soccer.”

We are, instead, sitting in Train Guy’s grandparents’ cabin in our local mountains, looking at the gorgeous snow outside. In a few minutes we will take Mouse out tobaggoning, which he appears to like much better this year than his first go-round at 9 weeks. Yes, we took our 9-week-old tobaggoning. Because we’re fabulous parents like that. Hey, it was only about 15 feet on the front lawn.

But anyway, neither the Traing Guy nor I are into professional football, or any professional sport for that matter. Oh sure, last year we went to an Anaheim Ducks hockey game, and that was a lot of fun. And we’ve been playing lip service to going to an Angels game for years but haven’t gotten around to it. But other than that, nah. I mean the Los Angeles area doesn’t even have a football team. Unlike the days of my youth when there were two, we are probably the largest metropolitan area without a single professional football team. Maybe I would be mildly interested if I had a local team to root for, but to be completely honest, I’ve never forgiven the treachery of the Rams and Raiders.

Now college football I like. I mean I don’t go out of my way to watch it, but if it’s on I enjoy it. And I do like the Rose Bowl–talk about a hometown game. But I have a rather peculiar hierarchy for determining which team I will root for in any given game. It goes something like this:

1. Colleges I attended
2. Colleges my close loved ones attended
3. Anyone playing USC or Notre Dame*
4. Colleges in states where I have lived, except USC or Notre Dame
5. Colleges in states where people I love live
6. Pac 10 schools (sans USC)
7. Big Ten (I mean eleven) schools
and when all else fails…
8. The underdog

*So whom do I root for when USC plays Notre Dame? Whoever is most likely to ruin the other’s record. Or I watch something more important, like racquetball.

But today is not a college game. Today is the Superbowl. And what are we doing today? Enjoying this.

Who says Southern California is missing all the snow?

The Scrivener

3 Responses

  1. There are only 2 reasons we have the superbowl on in our house… 1. a reason to have people over and eat/drink and 2. for the commercials. As a former art director at a major marketing firm, I freakin LOVE the commercials. Other than that, I totally agree!

  2. Ok, so first I have to say…. “huh?” I don’t comprehend the no football thing. It just doesn’t compute. Second – there was no treachery with the Raiders leaving L.A. and going BACK to Oakland. They are originally an Oakland team, so they merely went home. And any REAL Raider fan is going to say that the 11 years spent in L.A. was just a really long road trip. 🙂 You will soon have a “Los Angeles” team (or 2) to root for as a stadium is being built in the Industry/Walnut/Diamond Bar area. Just don’t complain on Monday nights when you are trying to drive on the 57 or 60…

  3. no football for us either. Yay!!

Leave a Reply

