Interview With Lauren Potter–"Becky Jackson" on Glee **GenXMoms Exclusive**

The moms love Glee. The 80′s tunes are a throwback to our own high school days, the actors are fabulous, the storyline is addicting, and who doesn’t think it’s awesome to just burst out in song every once in a while? I know I do.

But one thing we’re particularly excited about is Glee’s portrayal of a number of different kinds of students. And I’ll admit it–my favorite character on the series is Becky Jackson, Cheerio and Sue Sylvester’s personal assistant. It’s so refreshing to me to see a character with Down syndrome portrayed not just positively, but as though the disability didn’t exist at all. Which is exactly how it should be.

I was thrilled to get an opportunity to interview Lauren Potter, the young woman who plays Becky, and here’s our chance to let you get to know Lauren a little better.

So Lauren, tell us a little bit about yourself–favorite movies, books, music?

I love everything Disney! Right now I’m reading the “Pretty Little Liars” series and they are so good! I like the show too. My favorite music of course is all the music from Glee, but I also like Selena Gomez and Justin Bieber, and I love the guys from Big Time Rush…I met them at Paramount while I was filming and they are sooo nice!

So tell the truth–is working on Glee as much fun as it looks?

Oh my gosh, it is so much fun. It is a lot of work too, but I love the cast and crew and all the producers. It gets pretty crazy sometimes, but it is a blast!

Sue Sylvester is one tough cookie but through the character of Becky Jackson, we get to see her softer side. Is actress Jane Lynch really like Sue Sylvester?

No way! She is so nice in person. She is really nice to talk to and she helps me a lot on set!

One of my favorite episodes was the Christmas episode with the Glee version of the Grinch. I was so thrilled to see Becky Jackson featured. Tell us about that episode.

I loved that episode. I had a huge crush on the director, he is really cute! It took a long time to film that episode but it was really fun, and I loved watching it when it was finished

Can you give us a hint of what’s in store for Becky and Glee?

I really never know, but I hope a lot more episodes!

What other projects are you working on?

I just got home from New York City. I was on CNN and ABC News. My Mom and I did a PSA to stop Bullying of kids with special needs and we went there to talk about it. It is through www.abilitypath.org I also did an interview with People Magazine with my Mom so we can stop bullying.

You’ve been a real inspiration and role model for many young people with disabilities. What advice do you have to give to others who have dreams as big as yours?

To never stop dreaming, no matter what the dream is. I feel so lucky and honored to be acting, but kids with disabilities need to know that they can do anything that they put their mind to! Just “don’t stop believin”!

And here’s the moving Public Service Announcement of Lauren and her mom, Robin, as they work to “disable” bullying.

5 Responses

  1. What a great interview. Way to go, Lauren!!

  2. I love Becky on the show. I think you nailed it, how you forget she even has a disability. I think its wonderful@!

  3. How awesome you got to interview Becky. I gotta admit it- I love Becky, too!

  4. You rock, Lauren! Thanks for bringing a smile to my face with every single scene you have in Glee! :-)

  5. We can’t wait to see more of you on Glee, Lauren. I am on a Disney kick as well, maybe we’ll see you at Disneyland some time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

